Download MetaTrader 5

How to Start with Metatrader 5 - page 80

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Liquidity from the global broker Alpari is now available to MetaTrader 5 institutional clients

MetaQuotes Software Corp., 2016.10.17 13:00

MetaQuotes Software Corp. has announced the integration of the MetaTrader 5 platform with broker company Alpari — one of the global leaders in the Forex brokerage industry. Alpari has been added to the pool of liquidity providers for MetaTrader 5, offering quotes for 44 currency pairs and 2 spot metals, including XAGUSD and XAUUSD. The Alpari broker provides excellent opportunities for institutional clients, such as instant execution of trading operations, unlimited liquidity, and an individual approach to trading conditions.


Alpari

"Alpari and MetaQuotes Software Corp. have long been in partnership, as part of which Alpari was the first broker in the world to introduce to their clients the updated MetaTrader 5 platform with the hedging option," comments Alexander Novodvorsky, COO of Alpari. "It is a logical development that Alpari has become one of the first liquidity providers integrated into MetaTrader 5. We believe that today, MetaTrader 5 is one of the most advanced trading platforms offering a highly technological trading system structure."

Alexander Novodvorsky

Alexander Novodvorsky, Alpari

"We are happy to further expand cooperation with our reliable partner Alpari," says Renat Fatkhullin, CEO of MetaQuotes Software Corp. "This leading international broker has become one of the first companies to provide unlimited liquidity to MetaTrader 5 brokers. This is an important step in the development of the MetaTrader 5 institutional platform and its opportunities for the brokerage business."


Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Why is it better MT5 than MT4?? Does it have fewer limitations ???
Why is it better MT5 than MT4?? Does it have fewer limitations ???
  • 2017.01.21
  • www.mql5.com
Well, due to the conversation of this thread, I have considered it opportune to open a new one to expose the pros and cons of MT4 versus MT5, and w...
Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

How to Start with Metatrader 5

Sergey Golubev, 2016.05.08 20:17

Welcome,

  • Usually people who can't code don't receive free help on this forum, though it could happen if you are lucky, be patient.
  • If you show your attempts and describe well your problem, you will most probably receive an answer from the community.
  • If you don't want to learn to code, nothing bad, you can either look at the Codebase if something free already exists, or in the Market for paid products (sometimes free also).
  • Finally, you also have the option to hire a programmer in the Freelance section.
Good luck.

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

how to create a signal for free in a real account

Aleksey Pak, 2016.02.19 14:04

Signal based on the real account available only for paid subscription. Demo signals always free.

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Get in touch with developers using Service Desk!

Mirko Cerulli, 2015.07.20 17:52

...Signals resale is prohibited.

Please read signal rules which is always updated.

IV. Subscription to Signals

14. An account previously subscribed to a Signal, can be used for creating its own Signal not earlier than a week after the subscription expiration. Resale or free retransmission of Trading Signals is prohibited.

 

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Synchronize doesn't do it's job.

Marco vd Heijden, 2016.11.03 09:12

your system that copies the signal should be running at all times.

if you close and reopen it, it will synchronize new positions.




Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

How to Start with MT5, a summary !

Alain Verleyen, 2013.03.15 16:12

How to start with MT5 platform : summary.

As our topic about "How to start with Metatrader 5" is going to be huge, here you find a summary, with main links.



For developpers.


Work in progress, stay tuned :-)


Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

MetaTrader 5 - More Than You Can Imagine!

  1. Charts
  2. Navigator
  3. Trading
  4. Toolbox
  5. Testing and Optimization
  6. Integration with MQL5.community
  7. MetaEditor
  8. The MQL5 Programming Language
  9. Services for Traders and Developers
Reza John Niazi
780
Reza John Niazi  
Grate forum Keep it up 
Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

The MetaTrader 5 web platform on MQL5.com allows opening brokerage demo trading accounts

MetaQuotes Software Corp., 2016.10.25 13:40

While the desktop MetaTrader 5 grows in popularity, the web version of the platform gains momentum as well. More and more brokers offer their clients the ability to trade directly in their browsers. The latest MetaTrader 5 update allows you to quickly open a demo account at a brokerage company. This feature is available only on the MQL5.com website.

Do you want to test the web platform using your broker's demo account? Launch the WebTerminal on MQL5.community and write the broker's name in the account opening window. After selecting the broker server, you access the demo account and you are ready to go.


MetaTrader 5 Web Platform


Try the updated web terminal on MQL5.com!

Launch the Web Platform


Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

MQL5.com VPS hosting

Slawa, 2016.06.28 16:36

You can run multiple EAs on one virtual hosting server right now. Without additional pay.

Why do You want pay more money? There are no plans to multiply payments for virtual hosting

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

How to Start with Metatrader 5

Sergey Golubev, 2014.11.07 14:46

Why Virtual Hosting On The MetaTrader 4 And MetaTrader 5 Is Better Than Usual VPS

Renting a virtual server right from the MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 terminals is the optimal way to ensure uninterrupted work of your trading robots and Signal subscriptions. Essentially, it is an analogue of a VPS though it is better and more suitable for addressing needs and challenges that a trader comes across. The server can be rented straight from your MetaTrader. It takes only a couple mouse clicks for Experts Advisors, indicators, scripts together with Signal subscriptions and settings to be transferred to the virtual server. The Virtual Hosting Cloud network was developed specially for MetaTrader and has all the advantages of a native solution.

Certainly, there are alternatives to virtual hosting but a closer look reveals that they do not compete. The first thing that comes to mind is using a home computer as a budget option. It could work, however a stable internet connection and uninterrupted power supply are not guaranteed. A VPS can be rented from a suitable provider found on the internet. That could be feasible but it implies a manual search for a server having minimum latency with the required Forex-broker's. Such a puzzle does not suit everyone.

Some important information -

64-bit Metatrader only to use Virtual Hosting:

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Mt5 VPS

Slawa, 2016.06.28 16:25

It must be 64-bit client terminal to use virtual hosting

2016.06.28 17:25:02.177 Terminal        MetaTrader 5 x64 build 1347 started (MetaQuotes Software Corp.)

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Meta 4 Robot help

Sergey Golubev, 2018.04.05 18:18

MQL5 VPS is for Metatrader 4 and Metatrader 5 - Forex VPS for MetaTrader 4/5 
So, you can check only the following: your EA (robot) is using dll, or not (because dll is not supported by MQL5 VPS).

...

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Is 'Allow DLL import' and 'Allow modification of signal setting ' in MQL4 Indicators dangerous?

Sergey Golubev, 2017.09.09 06:05

Rules of Using the Virtual Hosting Service MetaTrader (Forex VPS)

No DLLs are allowed on a Virtual terminal. There is no physical capacity to use DLLs there.

If a program launched on a Virtual terminal tries to call a function from any DLL, this EX4/EX5 program is immediately stopped due to a critical error. Any DLL calls are forbidden.


Sergey Golubev
Moderator
103864
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Frequently Asked Questions about the Signals service

MetaQuotes Software Corp., 2013.02.20 09:00

Discover in 15 Minutes: Watch the Video about Trading Signals in MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5

The most frequently asked questions related to the Signals service will be collected and processed in this topic. The list of questions will be updated from time to time. Soon we will try to give answers to all incoming questions. Please, feel free to write a comment, if you didn't find the answer to your question.

Before asking a question, please read the following featured articles:


Questions

  1. What the Signals service is needed for?

  2. Who can create a trading Signal at MQL5.com? Should I pay for this?

  3. When a free Signal will become available for subscription?

  4. How to create a free signal?

  5. How to subscribe to a Signal?

  6. I created a signal, but it is not available for subscription on the website. Why?

  7. How to subscribe to a signal from the MetaTrader 4 (MetaTrader 5) client terminal?

  8. Can I copy trades from MetaTrader 4 to MetaTrader 5 or vice versa?

  9. How paid subscriptions are charged? What will happen if a free subscription becomes paid?

  10. Can I cancel a paid subscription?

  11. I want to copy trades with fixed volume of 1.0 lots. Is it possible?

  12. On Provider's account all trades are performed with volume of 0.1 lots. I want to copy these trades with larger volume, for example 0.3 lots. Can I raise the volume somehow?

  13. The Provider has trading symbol called GOLD, and my broker has the same instrument, but it is called XAUUSD. Are trades on GOLD copied to XAUUSD in that case?

  14. Can I set my own rules of copying trades from a Provider's symbol to a Subscriber's one?

  15. What rounding scheme is used for Provider's and Subscriber's percentage ratio of deals volume?

  16. Why there should be no open positions and pending orders on my account in order to subscribe to a signal?

  17. Why manual trading leads to problems with copying of signals (accounts out of sync)? Why I cannot simultaneously subscribe to a signal and trade on one account?

  18. How to disable your own Signal? I do not want to broadcast it anymore.

  19. Does the MetaTrader 4/5 terminal has to be running at Subscriber's end for trades to be copied?

  20. Can I unsubscribe from the Signal in the same way I subscribed to it?

  21. How can I find out what Signal I am subscribed to in the terminal and how can I cancel the subscription?

  22. How are transactions copied if the Provider has 4-digit quotes for a Symbol and the Subscriber has 5-digit quotes for the same Symbol or vice verse?

  23. How is the Growth in Signals Calculated?

  24. How is the year-to-date growth (YTD) calculated, if a sum of monthly growths differs from this value?

  25. How to know the signals copy ratio to my account and the size of the required account deposit in advance?


Answers

  1. What the Signals service is needed for?
    The special "Signals" section at MQL5.community website allows all registered users to broadcast their own trading operations from their MetaTrader 4 or MetaTrader 5 trading accounts, as well as to subscribe to copy deals into their trading accounts from Signals of other traders. Each trading signal has its own page in the Signals section, where you can see a detailed trading statistics of deals history, charts of growth and balance, number of subscribers, etc.

  2. Who can create a trading Signal at MQL5.com? Should I pay for this?
    To create a signal you only need to register at MQL5.com. You can create signals with free and paid subscription - in both cases, you don't need to pay anything to create a signal.

  3. When a free Signal will become available for subscription?
    Free signals become available to subscribers as soon as the signal server can connect to a trading account from which the signals will be broadcast.

  4. How to create a free signal?
    If you are registered at MQL5.com, in the upper right corner of the Signals section click "Create your own signal" to open the corresponding page where you can create your own Signal.

    Enter the name of your future Signal, then select either MetaTrader 4 or MetaTrader 5 platform, set specify login and investor password of your account on selected trading platform. In the Broker field enter the name of trading server or broker (while typing, you can find the server you need in the appeared drop-down list).


    After completing all these four fields, click “Add” and you will open the page of your newly created Signal. Enter description for your Signal and save it.



  5. How to subscribe to a Signal?
    You can subscribe to a trading signal in two ways. First - subscribe directly from the desired signal at the website:


    Second - subscribe from the client terminal. To do this, you must enter your MQL5.com login and password in the Community tab of the client terminal settings dialog box. For a paid subscription you will also need the required sum of money on your account in MQL5.community payment system.



  6. I created a signal, but it is not available for subscription on the website. Why?
    Go to the "My signals" section to view the status of your signal. There may be problems with its connection.


    When you open your signal page you will see the error message. You can correct account number, password and the name of trading server using the "Edit" command.



  7. How to subscribe to a signal from the MetaTrader 4 (MetaTrader 5) client terminal?
    Select the desired signal in the terminal and open it. Then click "Subscribe" and in the opened dialog box fill in all the required data: agree to the terms of use, confirm password of your MQL5.com account and then click "OK".


    Then, after a second or two, the next dialog box will appear in which you must configure the setting of signal copying and click "OK".



  8. Can I copy trades from MetaTrader 4 to MetaTrader 5 or vice versa?
    No, MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 trading platforms have differences in order accounting and execution. Therefore, you should select signal from the same trading platform as your account to be able to copy trades. Or you can open an account on the same platform (and preferably at the same broker) as a Signal you want to subscribe.
    We recommend you to read the MetaTrader 5 Trading System and Orders, Positions and Deals in MetaTrader 5 articles if you are new to MetaTrader 5.

  9. How paid subscriptions are charged? What will happen if a free subscription becomes paid?
    When subscribing to a paid signal, the required amount of money for the entire subscription period (week or month) freezes on Subscriber's account. But these money are not transferred immediately to Provider's account - provider receives money automatically when subscription is expired. If Provider cancels his Signal, frozen money are returned to subscribers.

    If Provider decides to make a free Signal paid, then all existing subscriptions remain active and free until the end of subscription period. After subscription is expired, you will be offered to pay to renew this subscription, which you can accept or reject. Thus, converting free subscription to paid one will not charge your account if you have previously subscribed to free signal.

  10. Can I cancel a paid subscription?
    If Subscriber cancels his subscription, frozen money will be transferred to Provider. In this case, Subscriber will receive a clear warning:



  11. I want to copy trades with fixed volume of 1.0 lots. Is it possible?
    No, the volumes of copied trades are calculated automatically by the client terminal on the basis of specified settings and balance ratio of Subscriber's and Provider's accounts. You can not specify fixed volume of deals.

  12. On Provider's account all trades are performed with volume of 0.1 lots. I want to copy these trades with larger volume, for example 0.3 lots. Can I raise the volume somehow?
    All volumes are calculated automatically. Subscriber can copy trades with volume larger than on Provider's account only in one case - if Subscriber's account balance reserved for signals copying is greater than Provider's account balance (Subscriber_Balance * Load > Provider_Balance).

  13. The Provider has trading symbol called GOLD, and my broker has the same instrument, but it is called XAUUSD. Are trades on GOLD copied to XAUUSD in that case?

    If Subscriber's account has a symbol with the same name as the one on the Provider's account, trades are copied for this symbol. If the symbol is not found, the search for a suitable symbol is performed according to the following algorithm:

    1. On the Subscriber's account, the system searches for all symbols with the names coinciding with the Provider's symbol by the first 6 characters. For example, EURUSD == EURUSDxxx == EURUSDyyy.
    2. Full permission to perform trading is checked for each detected symbol. If trading is allowed partially or completely forbidden, such a symbol is discarded.
    3. Margin calculation type is checked for each remaining symbol - if it is Forex, a symbol is considered to be suitable. Symbols of CFD, Futures or other calculation types are discarded.
    4. If no symbols remain after conducting all the checks or more than one symbol is found, it is considered that a symbol mapping attempt has failed and it is impossible to copy Provider's trades for that symbol.
    5. If one suitable symbol is found, it is used for copying Provider's trades.

    The algorithm provides only two exceptions for metal symbols:

    1. XAUUSD == GOLD
    2. XAGUSD == SILVER

    In these two cases, only full permission to perform trades is checked. If such permission is present, the mapping attempt is considered to be successful.

    Example 1: A Provider has positions on EURUSD, while a Subscriber – on EURUSD! (or vice versa) with full trading permission. The terminal performs mapping automatically and copies the trades.

    Example 2: A Provider has positions on EURUSD, while a Subscriber – both on EURUSD! and EURUSD. The copying is performed for EURUSD.

    Example 3: A Provider has positions on GOLD, while a Subscriber – on XAUUSD with full trading permission. The terminal performs mapping automatically and copies the trades.

    Example 4: A Provider has positions on GOLD, while a Subscriber – on XAUUSD with close-only (partial) trading permission. The mapping is considered unsuccessful and no copying is performed.


  14. Can I set my own rules of copying trades from a Provider's symbol to a Subscriber's one?
    Provider's and Subscriber's symbols are mapped automatically when copying trades. No custom rules can be set.

  15. What rounding scheme is used for Provider's and Subscriber's percentage ratio of deals volume?

    The following step-by-step algorithm is used for percentage rounding:

    1. If the value is less than 0.01%, it is rounded to 0.001%, i.e. it is assumed to be 0.001%. Examples: 0.007% => 0.001%, 0.000099 => 0.001%.
    2. If the value is greater than 0.01% and is less than 0.1%, it is rounded to hundredths. Examples: 0.063% =>0.06%, 0.045 => 0.05%. 
    3. If the value is greater than 0.1% and is less than 1%, it is rounded to tenths. Examples: 0.11 => 0.1%, 0.25% => 0.3%.
    4. If the value is greater than 1% and is less than 10%, it is rounded down to the nearest whole number. Examples: 6.25% => 6%, 7.79% =>7%.
    5. If the value is greater than 10% and is less than 100%, it is rounded down to the nearest whole number with step of 5%. Example: 29.7% => 25%.
    6. If the value is greater than 100%, it is rounded down to the nearest whole number with step of 10%. Example: 129.6% => 120%.

    You can see an example of calculations in the General information on Trading Signals for MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 article.

  16. Why there should be no open positions and pending orders on my account in order to subscribe to a signal?

    Open positions and pending orders do not allow Subscriber's account to correctly copy Provider's signals.

    • Subscription to a signal means that you completely rely on Provider's trading strategy. Positions and pending orders created by you or any other signal are not part of the current Provider's trading strategy.
    • The volume of copied trade operations is calculated based on the value of account balance. Subscriber's positions opened manually or by any other signal increase the deposit load and may also prevent signal copying due to insufficient free margin or lead to Margin Call.
    • In MetaTrader 5 you can have only one common position for one symbol at the same time. If Subscriber's account and Provider's account have open positions for the same symbols, signal copying can lead to reverse of the final position or to a significant change in its volume.


  17. Why manual trading leads to problems with copying of signals (accounts out of sync)? Why I cannot simultaneously subscribe to a signal and trade on one account?

    Manual intervention in trading on account subscribed to a signal, prevents correct copying of Provider's signals and complicates the analysis of signal copying results.

    • Subscription to a signal means that you completely rely on Provider's trading strategy. Positions and pending orders created by you or any other signal are not part of the current Provider's trading strategy.
    • The volume of copied trade operations is calculated based on the value of account balance. Subscriber's positions opened manually or by any other signal increase the deposit load and may also prevent signal copying due to insufficient free margin or lead to Margin Call.
    • In MetaTrader 5 you can have only one common position for one symbol at the same time. If Subscriber's account and Provider's account have open positions for the same symbols, signal copying can lead to reverse of the final position or to a significant change in its volume.

    Should the synchronization reveal any inconsistencies, i.e. positions different from those of the Provider or any pending orders set, a standard pop-up window will appear to prompt you for permission to synchronize.

    Subscriber's account is not ready for synchronization


  18. How to disable your own Signal? I do not want to broadcast it anymore.

    In the "My Signals" section open the signal you want to delete


    and click "Edit".


    Turn off the "Enabled" option and click "Save".


  19. Does the MetaTrader 4/5 terminal has to be running at Subscriber's end for trades to be copied?
    Trades are copied directly in the Subscriber's terminal which must be running and connected to the relevant account.

  20. Can I unsubscribe from the Signal in the same way I subscribed to it?
    You can cancel the Signal subscription in My Subscriptions on https://www.mql5.com/en/signals or directly in the terminal: see MetaTrader 5 Help → User Interface → Toolbox → Signals: Unsubscribe from Signal. If you unsubscribe from a fee-based Signal, the amount blocked in your account for payment of the subscription fee will be deducted from your account upon canceling the subscription.

  21. How can I find out what Signal I am subscribed to in the terminal and how can I cancel the subscription?
    First, when establishing a connection to the account, the terminal connects to the signal server and checks for any available subscriptions. If the account is subscribed to a Signal, a relevant message will be written to the Journal. In addition, the name of the Signal to which the account is subscribed is displayed in blue in the first line of the Signals section of the terminal settings.
    Second, there is an alternative simple way that allows you to instantly view all your current and expired subscriptions on the Signals page of My Subscriptions. To be able to use this option you should be logged in to your MQL5.com account.

  22. How are transactions copied if the Provider has 4-digit quotes for a Symbol and the Subscriber has 5-digit quotes for the same Symbol or vice verse?
    All transactions copied to the Subscriber's account are executed at current market prices considering the deviation set in the terminal settings and contract specification of the given symbol. Thus when copying deals the number of digits doesn't matter.

  23. How is the Growth in Signals Calculated?
    The growth shows how the balance of an account grows. It is calculated so that the influence of deposits and withdrawals is avoided.

    The entire trade history of an account is divided into periods between balance operations (deposits and withdrawals). First, the total growth coefficient (K) is calculated by multiplying the growth coefficients computed for each period between the balance operations (BO) and then the growth in percentage terms is calculated.
    Growth Coefficient К = (Balance before BO1/Initial Deposit) * (Balance before BO2/Balance after BO1 * ... * Balance before BOn/Balance after BOn-1)

    Growth in Percentage Terms = (К - 1) * 100%

    On the chart below, the balance operations are marked with big red dots and the dashed lines indicate the periods of growth calculation:


    Growth Calcualtion

    In this case, the total growth for the account is calculated as follows:
    Growth Coefficient К = К1 * K2 * K3 = (6 615/10 000 * 17 847/11 115 * 15 547/14 847) = 1.1

    Growth in Percentage Terms = (K-1) * 100% = (1.1 - 1) * 100 = 10%

    Despite the current balance is about 50% higher than the initial deposit, the real growth due to trade operations is only 10%.

  24. How is the year-to-date growth (YTD) calculated, if a sum of monthly growths differs from this value?

    We use a compound rate when calculating YTD. This means that the YTD rate is calculated not by a simple addition of growth for several periods of time, but by their multiplication. Every period growth is superimposed on total cumulative growth of previous periods. This can be shown by an example.


    In 2014 the signal had following monthly growth values:

      January
    February
     March April
     May
    June
    July
    August
    September
    October
    November
    December
     Annual data
     Growth, % 14.71
    20.51
    20.43
    12.77
    0.18
    -
    195.28
    -
    -
    130.00 30.55 12.48 1 776
     Growth ratio for the period
     1.1471  1.2051 1.2043
     1.1277 1.0018
     1  2.9528  1 1
     2.3000  1.3055  1.1248 18.76
     Total growth ratio for the period  1.1471  1.3823  1.6648  1.8774  1.8808  1.8808  5.5535  5.5535  5.5535  12.7731  16.6753  18.7563  
    1. There was 14.71% growth in January. That means that a trading account has been multiplied by 1.1471 this month. This is what we call the growth ratio for the period.
    2. There was 20.51% growth in February, so the growth ratio in February is equal to 1.2051.

    The growth ratio for the period is calculated according to the formula: (Growth in percentage terms) / 100%  + 1.0.   The growth ratio in January = (14.71%/100%)+1.0 = 1.1471.

    You have to multiply together growth ratios of January and February of 2014 and get the general growth ratio for these months to calculate the growth for the period.

    Total growth ratio = 1.1471 * 1.2051 = 1.3823

    The total growth ratio helps us get the ratio in percentage terms as (Total growth ratio - 1) * 100% = Growth for the period

    Growth for January-February of 2013 in percentage terms  = (1.3823 - 1.0) * 100% = 38.23%

    As you can see, there was 38.23% growth in these two months. And it differs greatly from simple addition of percents for every month ( 38.23% != 14.71% + 20.15%)

    So if you want to get a year growth ratio, you need to multiply together growth ratios for each month, then subtract 1.0 from the product and multiply the result by 100%. This will be the compound year-to-date rate (YTD).

    You need to do the same with annual growth values to see the growth for all years of trading.

  25. How to know the signals copy ratio to my account and the size of the required account deposit in advance?

    The signals copy ratio from the provider's account to the subscriber's account depends on 4 factors. The article "Calculator of signals" describes the calculation mechanism and provides an application to automatically calculate these parameters before subscribing to the selected signal.n

  26. Next question