How to start with MetaTrader and forex, the beginning - page 4

To add comments, please log in or register
Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

The new MetaTrader Market features app selections and sub-categories

MetaQuotes Software Corp., 2017.03.29 10:10

The largest store of ready-made trading robots for the MetaTrader platforms features over 11,000 applications. We have upgraded the MetaTrader Market to help you browse through this wide variety of trading programs. The main page now features new Market products, popular Expert Advisors and indicators, as well as top free applications. The new design allows for better navigation experience in the MetaTrader Market, while providing fast access to the most interesting and useful apps.

The Experts, Indicators and Utilities sections have been enhanced with sub-sections, making it easier to find applications suiting your specific trading strategy. Trend or scalping robots, oscillators or cluster indicators, neural networks or martingale systems — the Market features an easy-to-browse selection of applications for traders of any skill level.

The new MetaTrader Market features app selections and sub-categories

Also, a month ago we launched the Coupons service for brokers — using MQL5 Coupons, you can evaluate the Market of trading applications and other services for the MetaTrader platforms for free. Ask for available coupons from your broker, and use them to get closely acquainted with the Market of trading robots.

Download MetaTrader 5 and evaluate the new Market


Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

market

Sergey Golubev, 2016.08.01 06:58

one time

--------

How to buy a Trading Robot in MetaTrader Market?
The process of purchasing

Everything starts with the Activation in the Market. When you buy a product you do not actually get the product itself but the right to use it an unlimited number of times, but on a limited number of computers. This parameter is set for each paid product individually and it is disabled for free products.

After one activation you can use the product on a computer without any restrictions. You will not be able to download the copy of the product on another computer. If you installed the file manually, you will not open it either. Number of activations can be found on the page with a detailed description of the product in the column with its specifications (described above).

How to Test a Trading Robot Before Buying
Buying a trading robot on MQL5 Market has a distinct benefit over all other similar options - an automated system offered can be thoroughly tested directly in the MetaTrader 5 terminal. Before buying, an Expert Advisor can and should be carefully run in all unfavorable modes in the built-in Strategy Tester to get a complete grasp of the system, seeing that every Expert Advisor offered on MQL5 Market has a demo version available.

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

As many people are asking about "How to open account with MT5" and "How to add the broker to MT5" so I want to remind the following links:

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

PriceChannel Parabolic system

Sergey Golubev, 2017.02.15 06:02


You can read this article (TESTING TRADING STRATEGIES ON REAL TICKS).

-------------------

Just an example -

MT4 and very old builds of MT5: I optimized the EAs from this thread just to find good settings for the pair, I was backtesting them, and I traded on demo for some time just to be sure that EAs are profitable.

With new builds of MT5: I will optimize the EAs from this thread to find the settings, and I will backtesting them with 'every tick based on real ticks' - and it will be same as trading by those EA on real account for many months or years!

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

MT4 & MT5 backtest

Sergey Golubev, 2017.02.17 20:53

If you are backtesting EA on MT5 using 'every tick based on real ticks' so it will be almost same with trading on MT5 platform with some particular broker (because it is based on actual historical data).

Example, read this thread: Why is it better MT5 than MT4?? Does it have fewer limitations ??? - this is the quote from the first post of the thread:

  • In MT5 you can backtesting robots with the closest possible conditions to the real market natively  (real tick data, real variable spreads, lag, slippage, etc). In MT4 you can't natively. You only can if you pay for a third-party software. If so, you also have to download history data from a few sources (there are many few, almost everyone uses the same source), transform it to MT4 format and open the platform through this third-party software in order to patch MT4 behavior. You take many hours to complete this process, and you have to repeat it every time you want to incorporate new data. 
    We have all seen hundreds of robots that obtained spectacular results in backtesting, but when operating in real account the results were very bad. This is mainly because they were made with conditions that had nothing to do with real market conditions.

For more information about it - read this summary.

--------------

As i know - some coders/traders are converting their MT4 EAs to MT5 just to backtest them and/or to find the settings with optimization to get the backtesting results that are closest to reality. 




Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

MQL5 VPS

(64-bit Metatrader only to use Virtual Hosting)

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

MQL5.com VPS hosting

Slawa, 2016.06.28 16:36

You can run multiple EAs on one virtual hosting server right now. Without additional pay.

Why do You want pay more money? There are no plans to multiply payments for virtual hosting


Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

How to Start with Metatrader 5

Sergey Golubev, 2014.11.07 14:46

Why Virtual Hosting On The MetaTrader 4 And MetaTrader 5 Is Better Than Usual VPS

Renting a virtual server right from the MetaTrader 4 and MetaTrader 5 terminals is the optimal way to ensure uninterrupted work of your trading robots and Signal subscriptions. Essentially, it is an analogue of a VPS though it is better and more suitable for addressing needs and challenges that a trader comes across. The server can be rented straight from your MetaTrader. It takes only a couple mouse clicks for Experts Advisors, indicators, scripts together with Signal subscriptions and settings to be transferred to the virtual server. The Virtual Hosting Cloud network was developed specially for MetaTrader and has all the advantages of a native solution.

Certainly, there are alternatives to virtual hosting but a closer look reveals that they do not compete. The first thing that comes to mind is using a home computer as a budget option. It could work, however a stable internet connection and uninterrupted power supply are not guaranteed. A VPS can be rented from a suitable provider found on the internet. That could be feasible but it implies a manual search for a server having minimum latency with the required Forex-broker's. Such a puzzle does not suit everyone.

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Mt5 VPS

Slawa, 2016.06.28 16:25

It must be 64-bit client terminal to use virtual hosting

2016.06.28 17:25:02.177 Terminal        MetaTrader 5 x64 build 1347 started (MetaQuotes Software Corp.)

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

MQL5 VPS

How it works (videos and there are some prices too).

Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

MQL5 VPS

Just some important information and the changes related to Virtual Hosting

1. Why Virtual Hosting On The MetaTrader 4 And MetaTrader 5 Is Better Than Usual VPS

2. How to Prepare a Trading Account for Migration to Virtual Hosting

3. 64-bit Metatrader only to use Virtual Hosting:

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Mt5 VPS

Slawa, 2016.06.28 16:25

It must be 64-bit client terminal to use virtual hosting

2016.06.28 17:25:02.177 Terminal        MetaTrader 5 x64 build 1347 started (MetaQuotes Software Corp.)
4. Trailing stop in virtual hosting - by EA only:

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Trailing stop on virtual server

Slawa, 2016.06.28 16:59

No. Trailing stops are not supported by virtual hosting terminal

You can move your stop levels with EA only

5.We can run multiple EAs on one virtual hosting for now:

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

MQL5.com VPS hosting

Slawa, 2016.06.28 16:36

You can run multiple EAs on one virtual hosting server right now. Without additional pay.

Why do You want pay more money? There are no plans to multiply payments for virtual hosting


Sergey Golubev
Moderator
113971
Sergey Golubev  

MQL5 VPS Description
(MQL5 is the name of this portal, and MQL5 VPS can be used for MT4 and MT5 as well).

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Newbie looking to start VPS service

Eleni Anna Branou, 2017.03.15 12:52


1. You have to use a different VPS for every subscription.

2‌. You will be able to see the trades in real time if you open your local MT platform.

3‌. You have to change your setting in advance and synchronize signal again.

4‌. (I am using MT integrated VPS and I am happy with it, I can't tell for others).

5‌. You can renew your subscription from your MQL5.com: Signals >> My Subscriptions (on the left) or through your MT platform, down on the terminal window.

6‌. You can see everything in real time as it happens.


To add comments, please log in or register