Questions: to start with MetaTrader and forex - page 25

ooandajb:
Friend i am new to this forum. I had been trading this market since 2004 and now willing to help new traders coming into this market. It is nice that you have been practicing demo accounts for two months. This is the first step that all new trades must take. Before entering this market or signing up with any broker one must use their demo accounts which will help you to trade this market as well know the broker and its trading platforms.

I am also new to Fx trading have < 1 month on a demo account and came accross this forum. I am also new to using forums so apologise if I am breaking any conventions.

My question is I have been using a DBfx trial account. I have also tried another trial programme Fxcm. From looking through this forum it would appear that Mt4 offers far more flexability and programming options than either of the 2 I have used. Is Mt4 for experienced users only or advanced programmers? Is Mt4 a good programme for the likes of me?

Cheers

Lambo,

It really depends on your background for coding. If you have coding experience beyond C++ you are well on your way to becoming overqualified to work with MQL4 considering its a dumbed down version of C++.

Many MT4 Brokers tend to be shady, so your problem is not the platform they use, but the integrity of the brokerage and the safety of your funds.

This will depend on your risk tolerance, MT4 is widely supported, and has one of the larger followings of code / coders around with a extensive database of various indicators, programs, money management system etc completed, but then you deal with brokers that might steal your money, or disappear over night (that is an exaggeration)

There are other platforms available such as Ninja Platform or Strategy Runner, but the amount of code that is distributed across the internet is probably minimal comparatively speaking with MT4.