Questions: to start with MetaTrader and forex - page 27

Set names for "Value" in Data Window?

If it's possible, how do we set name for the 'Value' fields in the Data Window?

I know they are displaying the buffer values, but don't know how to display the buffer name, instead of 'Value 2' etc.

Anyone know?

Thanks

Files:
set-names.gif  57 kb

it's one of those things....

i looked high and low, and somehow couldn't find it, but as soon as I posted, I found the answer.

If anyone else needs to know, just add "SetIndexLabel(0,"your text here");" to the arrow buffer code... like this:

SetIndexStyle(0,DRAW_ARROW,0,arrowSize,BuyColor);

SetIndexArrow(0,158);

SetIndexBuffer(0,buyPrice);

SetIndexEmptyValue(0,0);

SetIndexLabel(0,"Buy Price");

Files:
set-names-2.gif  61 kb

How To Make a EA work with 5 digit broker?

Hi every one. I am new to the forex and also new to the forum and EA. I have a live account with FXCM but non of my EA was working with FXCM broker for they are 5 digit broker, while FFXDD is 4 digit broker and my EA is working with FXDD?

I wonder what code you need to put in the exist EA to make it work with 5 digit broker? Your help is rally appreciated.

Micah222

MICAH222:
Hi every one. I am new to the forex and also new to the forum and EA. I have a live account with FXCM but non of my EA was working with FXCM broker for they are 5 digit broker, while FFXDD is 4 digit broker and my EA is working with FXDD?

I wonder what code you need to put in the exist EA to make it work with 5 digit broker? Your help is rally appreciated.

Micah222

Sometimes by just change a bit the settings Ea could work.

Example: If you're trading with 0.1 lots change to 0.10 or 0.01

Otherwise you need to find a version that work with 5 digits.

mql4 programming best practices

hello all,

Where can I get some guidelines about mql best practices, or templates that help me to create good/clean/easy to understand EA?

Thanks

e