Backtesting/Optimization - page 75

question

hello guys i m not new to this forum i read a lot and post really less i would appriciate any kind of help thanx in advance

so let s came to it :

i ve got an ea that on the backtesting is doing the job as i wish but when i put it on a demo in live it does not what i want so

1 it goes only short ( the code is the same for short and long )

2 in backtesting with the simulator it works fine

why ?

again thanx for any help

EA testing

Hi guys,

I am a beginner in automatic trading (in trading in general) and using MetaTrader 4. I have started to build an EA and after hard time finished to implement it. I did some backtest with it and I have got some strange result:

the chart is growing but after a while falling. When I look into the report it is corresponding to "close at stop". What does it mean ?

If my EA is a good one and if you help me to improve it, I will share it.

Thank you for your help

Files:

thomada:
Hi guys,

I am a beginner in automatic trading (in trading in general) and using MetaTrader 4. I have started to build an EA and after hard time finished to implement it. I did some backtest with it and I have got some strange result:

the chart is growing but after a while falling. When I look into the report it is corresponding to "close at stop". What does it mean ?

If my EA is a good one and if you help me to improve it, I will share it.

Thank you for your help

Well, what is happening is that "Strategy Tester" reached the end of the test period but carried a position which was still open. Now since there is no further history available the tester forces the position to close that is all. no biggie

-guyver

Hi,

I use strategy generator (Forex Strategy Generator - freeware) and see it saves a LOT of time to check different strategies.

Mainly I use 5 min and 15 minutes to see if the strategies are working at all.

Which philosophy is the best to create the perfect strategy: