Getting started with a demo account?

Hi guys,

Not sure if I can ask questions in here regarding the use of the MT5 platform or if this is only for developers etc. But I'll ask anyway...

I am new to MT5 and Im scratching my head where to start. I have read through the user manual, and have created a demo account with MetaQuotes-Demo.

I want to learn the platform in my free time which like today (Sunday) will be out of hours. Can I use the platform on a demo account when markets are not open? It's just that I have GBP/USD open on M1 and there is nothing happening, even though it is showing me connected to the server.

I notice that the time zone appears to be wrong, as it's stopped at 23:58 and it's now 14:49. Would using a UK GMT server help?

I have used the platform briefly during market hours and everything was working OK, with data coming through constantly, but like I said above I really need to be learning in my free time which will be out of market hours.

Is there a way to 'back test'? Would this help me?

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Thanks.

brovashift: today (Sunday) will be out of hours. 

I notice that the time zone appears to be wrong, as it's stopped at 23:58 and it's now 14:49. Would using a UK GMT server help?

Is there a way to 'back test'?
  1. Of course "it's stopped."

2. The time zone is not wrong. It is your brokers TZ and appears to be using NY+7

3. Help with what?

4. It's called the strategy tester. Perhaps you should read the manual.

Demo account (with "demo money") is same as real account (with real money).
And the market is closed during the weekend (for all the accounts) - it means: the chart is not moved and you can not create the order/position.

As to the time ... every broker is having its own time related to their server time.

You can create the demo account with the many brokers to try them ... because the symbols are differeht for different brokers too.