Is MT4 optimization a random and inaccurate way to test multiple inputs?

Hello!

I have been an MQL4 developer for well over a year now and have come across around 200 different coding projects. I usually use the MT4 strategy tester to quickly see how the EA's I develop react to market movement and do they follow the rules I have set out for them.

I have now recently started developing my own system and am now in a point where I'd like to get the best possible inputs setup for a certain currency before I move on with the development. The easiest way would be to use the MT4 Strategy Tester's optimization feature, which (in theory) loops the tests through with all the possible inputs combinations that I set out for it to test.

What I noticed now is pretty frustrating - turns out that when I use the same exact inputs used by the optimization feature to get one result, I get a totally different result when I run the same test (with the same exact inputs that got the result on the optimization feature, the same exact time horizon and of course the same currency pair).

For example, I have attached two images which contain the information of the optimization result, and the result I got when I used the same inputs in a regular backtest (I had to attach the images since they were in an unreadable quality when I directly inserted them). You can see that during the optimization, the 10th pass got a profit of $33835 with the profit factor of 1.45. When I used the same setup for a regular test, the profit was 5470 and the profit factor 1.13. 

Now I get that with 90% (or even with 99%) modelling quality the results aren't very precise anyway. I also used the current spread but since the strategy uses long term entries on H1 chart, it really doesn't matter if the spread fluctuates by a tick or two.