Grid Trading Development Invitation

I am inviting a small number of like minded people to join with me to develop an interesting MetaTrader based Forex trading project. 

The scope of this project

I have been experimenting with grid trading on and off for the last couple of years.  Grid trading, particularly in Forex gets an undeservedly bad reputation. This may because some people  try to trade using this approach with insufficient understanding of what they are doing. Grid trading has gained greater respect with crypto currency traders. Some of the crypto traders who use it intelligently seem to be able to make worthwhile profits. 

I recently put together an MT4 EA based on the design of an online crypto bot and ran some tests on a live trading account. The results were quite encouraging but there is still work to be done and  I am still learning.

Grid trading is a term that seems to mean very different things to different people.  The sort of grid trading that I am interested in works in sideways markets and is agnostic about direction. This approach can therefore be thought of as trading volatility rather than attempting to predict the direction of price moves.

The problem with this style of grid trading occurs if price breaks out of the grid and starts to trend in either direction.

Traders try to deal with this problem in various ways. The simplest is probably to just use a stop loss but a simple stop loss is very inefficient and the cost is high in terms of lost potential profit. There are many other approaches. Some of them are unstable and when analysed typically demonstrate a high risk of ruin.

The scope of this project is to attempt to develop an efficient risk management algorithm to solve this problem.

How I propose going about it.