Problem writing an EA to perform similar functions as a custom indicator.

Hi guys,

So this is my first time posting on this forum. I have only a very small amount of coding ability, but after a few weeks of reading, trial and error, and trying hard to remember what I learned in school I have manged to write an indicator that gives fairly good entry signals according to the strategy that I want to use. Now I want to automate it, so instead of painting an arrow and sending me an email I want it to just go ahead and place a limit order at a set price. So I assumed that the code that determines when to place the arrow would also work in determining when to place the order. But it just doesn't work. I'm sure this is a fairly n00b question, but what am I missing? I obviously know that the code needs to be run as an EA rather than an indicator (since the MT4 terminal told me that OrderSend cannot be run from an indicator). But I can't figure out why the code won't work, when it works perfectly well elsewhere. So anyway, I am now ready to farm this out to the internet hive mind.

I hope someone will be able to help me.

Regards,

Nik