Raw Ideas - page 41

Scalping longer time frames

has anyone tried to modify a scapling technique or EA for a longer time frame?

A different Daily High/Low system

Hello All,

Firstly, I will be the first to admit that I am a newbie by any sense of definition. I have been "trading" for the last 2 years, trying out systems on forums, my own "logically" developed strategies etc. Am slowly getting there.

I have been manually trading the following strategy for a while now, but due to change in work hours, am not able to enter the orders at the appropriate time. I am also hoping that someone can make an EA so we can back test this with different stop loss levels, and see any other paterns that emerge.

I have only been doing this on gbp/jpy, and gbp/usd(but can't remember the results on it). I chose these pairs because they have quite high daily ranges. This strategy came about from reading so many threads about breakout strategies of daily, session high/lows, placing trades x number of pips away from levels etc. This led me to get hold of an indicator that placed the daily high/low on the charts, and after a small visual backtest, I came to the following conclusion: - if the market is moving towards the pervious day's high or low, as it gets closer to that level, there is a thrust of activity, pushing it to that level, and maybe beyond, sometimes fake outs etc. Big players will do this because a lot of stops are usually kept at these sort of levels, hence their temptation to take them out.

System:

At 00:00 GMT, place a limit buy and limit sell 5 pips from previous day high and low, with tp 5 pips (I know I am going to get blasted by some for this). Sl was not a fixed amout. In 2 mths of manualy trading (demo) I did not have sl hit once. Most of the time, it went past tp levels, but I was happy with my 5-10 pips per day.