Interesting topic for many: what's new in MetaTrader 4 and MQL4 - big changes on the way - page 52

MetaDriver:

I need a mql5 tester to be called from an EA.

Why this self-limitation?

hrenfx:
What's the use of such self-restriction?

Now (with the "Two MT - one language" scheme) it can simplify many "test by trade" schemes. Moreover, such a tester can be easily ported to C++. I'm not sure about reverse porting at all.

In short, it's like this for now, and then we'll see.

It's a strange approach. In my opinion, it is logical to first find the best place to trade (the biggest potential profit).

You write your own SINGLE trading API for yourself. If you want to change platform and there, for example, MultiCharts is offered instead of MT5. Then you do not need to change the robot or the tester at all. Write only pad - a mutual converter (Gateway) between your trading API and the API of your broker. Don't forget that MT5 in particular is also a trading API.

Don't tie yourself to platforms and any particular third-party trading API. Write your own once. And from there, it's easy to go anywhere. Robots and tester will not change.

The same Stockshop is written on this principle. In FOREX, for example, you may trade on LMAX through it. I.e. it's just a question of writing a bridge between the two APIs.

Actually MT5 works on the same principle. You write in MQL5, and someone writes for MT5 gateways. The main task of developers is to get hooked on their trading API (MQL5) so that it would be hard to get off. Then the client becomes yours. That's why the hatred and jealousy of talking about other APIs and platform-independence is strong.

hrenfx:

It's a strange approach. In my opinion, it is logical to first find the best place to trade (the biggest potential profit).