**Steinitz** Method Revealed Here - page 79

yorkyjohnny:
Hi Don...thank you for responding to my post so quickly.

I do beleive this is a tricky issue, as news releases occur daily affecting various pairs in rotation and can only comment from my own personal viewpoint, that I find them risky and often dangerous to be caught in a trade at time of release. Even when the news is in your favor (i.e. it should push price in the direction of your trade), often it will turn 50-100 pips against you first, before returning back and resuming in your direction.

Worse still, how often do you see positive news having a negative effect on the price of the very currency it should be boosting and no-one can account for it or provide an explanation for this contrarian behaviour. This is one of the reasons I cannot be a fundamentalist. I am a purist technician, believing 100% in 'technicals'. I agree that news, which is fundamental will influence the market and in particular the price of the currency to which that news applies.

However, you only need to look back over charts to see that the influence of the news had a temporary, hiccup effect on the price, reversing it in the opposite direction to what it was heading, for a short period of time only. Price then reverses back to the direction that technicals were forecasting (prior to release) and are still indicating. In the interim, of course, the price may have reversed 150 pips, before resuming back on it's original path and this is 150 pips that will have temporarily been against you.