OK .... I know I'm an idiot

I admit it, I'm obviously missing something.

I'm a UK trader, using MetaTrader4 for visuals, but using IGIndex for the actual business.

I'm playing with MetaTrader features, and thought I would look at what the Expert Advisors have to offer.

I've scoured the net, found heaps of sites discussing Expert Advisors, but they all have one thing in common ..... they all seem to expect you to know how to use them. How do you get started?

I've loaded CyberiaTrader, and got a little smiley face in the corner of the chart .... but that's it? What am I supposed to do with a smiley face?

I suggest you to look at www.mql4.com and www.metaquotes.com

sorry, not www.metaquotes.com, but www.metaquotes.ru

Look at the MT4 built-in help as well.

FutureMillionaire?:
I admit it, I'm obviously missing something.

I'm a UK trader, using MetaTrader4 for visuals, but using IGIndex for the actual business.

I'm playing with MetaTrader features, and thought I would look at what the Expert Advisors have to offer.

I've scoured the net, found heaps of sites discussing Expert Advisors, but they all have one thing in common ..... they all seem to expect you to know how to use them. How do you get started?

I've loaded CyberiaTrader, and got a little smiley face in the corner of the chart .... but that's it? What am I supposed to do with a smiley face?

Yes, that is it, now just wait for money.

I've had a bit of success. I managed to run Cyberia historically, using the strategy tester. It showed that, starting with 10,000 (whatever your currency is), at the end of one month, you would have 232,229.38 !!!

It sounds wonderful BUT .... and this is a BIG BUT. I noticed that most of the successful trades were just 1,2 or 3 pips. When you take out your 3 pip spread, most trades lose.

I found that, running through the same trades, minus the 3 pips, you lose in the end.

...... or am I missing something?