Problem with output values of indicators - has anybody noticed it ?

Hi,

I'm new to mql4 coding, and have a problem with output values of indicators when coding my EA, for example stochastics or CCI.

I noticed that there is a remarkable difference between the values of an indicator seen on the chart after a backtest and the value the program "read" and use.

For exemple, for the CCI, i can read a value of 55 on the chart at a precise bar, let's say 6h the 20/04/2010 (on a H1 period) and if i read the value of the CCI on the journal at the same time (with the print operator) value can be randomly between around 35 to 75 !

This keep happening and make my EA ineficient because the value it takes to operate are inacurate.

Has anybody noticed it or could explain me how to solve this very strange thing ?

Thank you very much !

keyrama

Nobody believes it could be very annoying ?

keyrama wrote >>
Nobody believes it could be very annoying ?

yes, and that is why i do not use indicators in ea anymore...

Merci Gachette.

Any other more optimistic solution ?

keyrama wrote >>

Merci Gachette.

Any other more optimistic solution ?

Code your indicators as custom indicators. It's actually beneficial in many regards, forcing you to understand the fundamental mathematical basis of the indicator as well as empowering you to ensure the output is logical.

keyrama:

I noticed that there is a remarkable difference between the values of an indicator seen on the chart after a backtest and the value the program "read" and use.

Has anybody noticed it or could explain me how to solve this very strange thing ?

When the indicator and the Icustom values don't match, it's usually the indicator external values or buffer index is wrong in the Icustom.

Otherwise it is the EA using the indicator's initial values of a new bar which can vary wildly