broker quotation VS MT5 ?

Hello everyone, I hope you are well

I am a beginner on this fabulous MT5 platform, however I have a question about the origin of the flows (price quotation),

- On the demo account what is the source of the feeds (quotation price) that the MT5 software uses?

- And I suppose that when I am connected with my account to a broker then it is not the same MT5 feed but the broker's feeds, correct me if I am wrong?

So I'm also wondering about backtesting, should it be done with the demo accounts? Or is it possible with the broker's account?

I'm sorry if my question sounds silly 😊 but it's a question and I'm a beginner on MT5 😊

MetaQuotes-Demo account is used to update MT5 to the new build and to test beta builds of MT5.
And the trading accounts of the brokers (demo or live/real) should ne used in any other cases (backtesting, trading, etc).

Because the trading accounts, money for trading, the price on the chart (quotation), and time of the price on the chart, the symbols to trade and so on -
all of the them are related to the broker only.

It means that brokers may have the different quotes/data (and the quotes/data are not the same for different brokers).
It may be same situation with demo and live/real account: different quotes.

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Could this be a Bug in MT5?

Sergey Golubev, 2019.11.19 06:12

The data/quotes (and the quality of the data/quotes) are related to the brokers only.
Many traders are selecting the broker based on the quality of the data the broker is proposing (the data/quotes may be slightly different from one broker to an other one within one trading platform for example).

------------

Forum on trading, automated trading systems and testing trading strategies

Every tick VS Every tick based on real ticks AND latency on StrategyTester (backtesting)

Sergey Golubev, 2017.04.25 18:24

---------------------