Points VS Pips - page 99

Dmitry Fedoseev:

One can sense a true teacher.... depth and breadth of knowledge, all to impress students and fuck their brains out... instead of giving them the knowledge and skills that will enable them to perform effectively and really understand.

And simply put - a mishmash of letters, in some places folded into words.

I have not taught a day, although I have 15 years of teaching experience. Integer, why are you so angry?

Алексей Тарабанов:

...Integer, why are you so angry?

I hope that's a rhetorical question.

Dmitry Fedoseev:

I hope this is a rhetorical question?

It depends on the circumstances.

Алексей Тарабанов:

))

The confusion is indeed present.

Since there was no five digits when MT4 was developed, pp was made an allias of pitch, which it is not, both in screen forms and in the language. Programmers and traders no longer speak the same language. This is bad, everyone understands this - hence the hypertrophied attention to this little topic.

To redo everything and eliminate all discrepancies is quite simple, but you will get a great pain from renaming Point to Step, or ... stuff like that. So, bear with me.

There is only one officially documented value of minimal change of the instrument price per one tick (event), and it is Point() - one point. Its value for each instrument can be received programmatically. All other desires/reprocesses/non-writes/pipsels, can be calculated independently, at the discretion of everyone who thinks otherwise, and use - that is MQL. But a point from all this will remain a point - the minimum value of a possible quote change.

Artyom Trishkin: