How many pips does a profitable EA earn per day and a successful trader - page 11

nowi:
100% OK, in case of an unprecedented force majeure, if prices stop moving altogether or volatility drops to an unprecedented low, then 99.999999%

it is correct to write in either direction. in both directions simultaneously: the probability of this is zero)
it is correct to write both ways for a given period of time, are you sure it's 99%?

it looks like a grail, does experience or probability theory tell you?

IvanIvanov:
what is the probability of the Aussie price moving in both directions by 10 four digits from 00 GMT ?

As an expert, I would expect you to give a detailed justification with figures

If you do it outright, it's something like this:

Probability one way = 0.5.

Probability the other way = 0.5.

Both ways = 0.5*0.5 = 0.25.

But we don't take into account market trends, currency pairs, spread size or volatility... None of the criteria influencing the required probability. That's why the result is purely statistical - p=0.25.

IvanIvanov:
it is correct to write both here and there for a given period of time, are you sure it's 99%?

sounds like a grail, does experience or probability theory tell you?
you didn't specify a time frame, and especially not that the price has to go both "there" and "there" in that time frame. you stated only the reference point: from 00 GMT and the probability that the price will go either up or down in 10 points. then yes I am sure: 99%!

in what I have described: it looks as much like a grail as an electric motor looks like an ice-cream cone.

However,elugovoy has answered the question of probabilities quite clearly and there is nothing to add...
although... the probability of going both ways = 0.25 is only true at a time interval (any). without specifying time intervals, i.e. infinity, both events would have probability = 1

nowi:
However,elugovoy answered the question of probabilities quite clearly and there is nothing to add...