Simple EA doesn't make a trade

Hi everyone, I am just beginning to learn how to code my own EA.

The idea of the EA is very simple, it is just a London breakout.

I want to check the highest and low of candles between 05:00 - 08:00 GMT+1 (my local time), and place 1 buy and sell stop on either side of this range.

For now I am just coding it in baby steps to ensure that everything works as it should.

I have started with just coding the time entry so that my EA will place a buystop 50 points over the current ask when the time hits 08:00 local time.

Later I will change so that the price at which the stops should be placed is based on the highest and lowest price in the defined range, but for now I just want to make sure I can even place a buystop based on my local time.

My code looks like this

#include<Trade\Trade.mqh>
CTrade   trade;

void OnTick()
  {	
     double Ask=NormalizeDouble(SymbolInfoDouble(_Symbol,SYMBOL_ASK),_Digits);		//Get price for buystop
     datetime time=TimeLocal();								//Get local time
     string hoursAndMinutes=TimeToString(time,TIME_MINUTES);				//Convert it into HH:MM format
     if ((PositionsTotal()==0)&&(StringSubstr(hoursAndMinutes,0,5)=="08:15"))		//If I have no positions and the time is 08:15
     {
        trade.BuyStop(0.10,Ask+50*_Point,0,0,ORDER_TIME_GTC,0,0);			//Open a buy stop
     }

Comment(hoursAndMinutes);  							//Show the current local time as a comment
  }

It compiles with no errors but when I test it in the strategy tester nothing happens.

Any ideas?

1. During testing in the strategy tester, TimeLocal() is always equal to TimeCurrent() simulated server time
              Date and Time / TimeLocal - Reference on algorithmic/automated trading language for MetaTrader 5

2. Use the debugger or print out your variables, including _LastError and find out why.

whroeder1:
  1. Use the debugger or print out your variables, including _LastError and find out why.

Thank you for the quick reply, it is much apprecieated!