The London Open - page 67

FrattonPark:
Hi Dan Great to see you back and posting again. I'm new to this game (trading since June) and would like to know how you read Friday's market the way you did. At 6.30am I saw long-established Daily and 4hr $ strength trends ( vs £,CHF, € with a little flicker of retracement. My mindset was focussed on waiting for the very clear $-strength trend to resume. This was not productive! You posted early-on to highlight worthwhile $ weakness and hoovered pips left, right and centre. I want to do the thinking myself rather than just follow your steers so although I saw good entries (esp 1-2-3's) all day I was so gripped by the notion that they were longs and hence counter-trend I sat there just watching them. I'm delighted with my discipline but not with my game-plan. I guess my question may be about “market feel” and perhaps not easy to answer but if there are any specifics that flagged Friday as Retracement Day and not just a fleeting counter-trend wiggle, I'd be very interested to hear. Incidentally, in support of your earlier post regarding money management, I'm a newbie with a well-honed mean streak. I play for minimum stakes and can readily laugh at yesterday's debacle without grinding my teeth to stumps. Thanks

Good evening

Good to have you on board and great question.

Ahh new to trading. I remember the endless months of learning, learning and more learning in front of the screens hour after hour.

It is important to have at least 2 screens and probably the best investment any newbie could have into trading.

At present i am looking at short term trading eg 60min and 5min charts. The day and 4 hour charts are great for longer term trading and i will be placing some longer trades on soon for the run up to Christmas.