Is $150 too much for writing a program? - page 2

elepoutre:
I am not a programmer but the main advantage that I see in being a programmer is not getting paid for making experts for other people...you get free other people' s ideas...and this is worthless....If among all these ideas, you can find only one good, then you get paid millions....

As far as programming other's ideas, I have never programmed someone's idea and found it to be worth trading with my own money, as their ideas never worked as well as the ideas I have programmed of my own. I have programmed for free a few times in the past to be nice, and sometimes in hopes that the idea was as good as they claimed, but in the end, none of them have been better than the ideas I have come up with on my own. So now I ask to be paid if I'm going to program for someone. If they don't want to pay, they can go learn how to code themselves as I and others have.

Well put!!!

Very nice Willis. I agree. If you want something done right, do it yourself. I started in forex 6 months ago. I have picked up enough skills to write EA's. It wasn't easy nor fun. My advice to any newbie: LEARN TO CODE OR LEARN TO PAY! If you wont write the code yourself, pay someone, but just remember, if your system is any good, you just gave the programmer the secrets!!

Willis11of12:
I recently had someone from these forums send me a private message offering me pay if I wrote him a program. Then after I wrote him the program, he said $150 was way too much, and that he thought $30 was more than enough. Honestly, I felt insulted! I'd more likely program for free than for such an insultingly low price!!

So, I want to get the opinion of some others on this forum to see how many of you have heard of a professional programmer making a program of any kind for $30. Anyone?