Detailed explanation of iCustom

Hello.

I am new to coding, and am learning a lot, however I have struck something that I cannot get my head around at the moment. I am trying to call the result of a test in one of my indicators, to an ea, so it can add it to its own tests before placing a trade. The ea is a simple moving average cross. The indicator is a trending or ranging indicator. I have attached the indicator code.

I would like help, and if possible explained simply so I can get my head around how it should be setup inside the indicator, for the ea to recognise it. Once I have the indicator sorted, I will move onto the ea.

The indicator has two tests, in which I would like to add the iCustom function. At this stage, I am only wanting to add it in one test, it doesn't matter which, as I am trying to understand it. Anyone willing to help and explain it simply, would be greatly beneficial - I cannot seem to find anything on-line that explains it so I understand it. The result of the test could just simply be "true".

Thanks in advance for you time.
Mike

//---- indicator settings
#property  indicator_separate_window
#property  indicator_buffers 2
#property  indicator_color1  Yellow
#property  indicator_color2  Red
#property  indicator_width1  1

//---- indicator parameters
extern string PairName = "";   // Leave blank for the pair of the chart, enter other pair name to compare correlated pairs

extern int StdDev.MA.Period=12;  // D1=20
extern int StdDev.MA.Shift=0;    //
extern int StdDev.MA.Method = 0; // 0=SMA 1=EMA 2=Smoothed 3=Linear Weighted
extern int StdDev.MA.Price = 0;  // 0 Close price, 1 Open price, 2 High price, 3 Low price, 4 Median price, (high+low)/2, 5 Typical price, (high+low+close)/3, 6 Weighted close price, (high+low+close+close)/4

extern int MA.Fast.Period = 3;
extern int MA.Fast.Method = 2;   //  0=SMA 1=EMA 2=Smoothed 3=Linear Weighted
extern int MA.Fast.Shift = 0;

extern bool CheckOncePerBar = true;

int i, limit, counted_bars;