EA recommendations

Hello

I have an EA that performs well in backtest and I am trying to take it to the next level - performing on a demo account. But I am lost as to what is good practice to make it reliable, robust to recover from MT4 crash.

E.g. - error handling. Apart from (obviously) logging the error, exactly how do you "handle" it? Some error codes suggest waiting for some time, then retrying, but if the error you get is not one of these, then what? Have the EA disable itself (is this possible from mql code)?

I have recently setup a VPS, and discovered the big difference between running in backtest vs forward-test on demo account. The first thing I doscovered was the "old tick" message (after login messages), and my EA was not functioning. From searching the forums I discovered the meaning of this message, but not the appropriate way to handle it.

Are there any recommendations available for people to look at? I have some programming experience (15 years, albeit NOT in MQL), and I know how to read documentation. Just need some guidelines.

IF anyone has any insights, they would be welcome! (I'm hoping cloudbreaker sees this post). Unless the EA is totally lying to me in backtest, it looks very promising - see attachment.

cheers

P.S. - I've

Starting from bottom up. Didn't attach...I hope it was the EA you're trying to attach as that would provide better insight than a Equity Curve. CloudBreaker is not active anymore. Your guideline is the Documentations. The best examples and advise I've seen are the OrderReliable.inclued file. Articles can be helpful too, like here and here.