Simple CCI with MA Filter EA

Hi friends,

I'm new to mql4, and would like to learn it step by step. My main intention is currently not to write a profitable EA, but rather to learn this great language. I have check the default MACD EA and removed the SL and TP from it and it worked.

Now I've found this CCI EA in the codebase, played with the code a little bit, and want to a pure CCI and MA code with nothing else in this EA, in order to examine the main functions in it. I see there is stuff like magic #, err, ... etc which I don't think neccesary for generating trades according to CCI triggers and MA filter. Can you please help me with this?

Kind regards,

magic numbers are for making sure that an EA does not butt heads with another EA or EA orders, so it sort of links the order for one ea specifically to that EA

So you may not be necessary to use magic number for trading one EA on one currency only but to run it on multiple currencies and/or along with other EA's at the same time it will be necessary

It's sort of like an ID number to match your orders with your EA. So that one EA does not delete or send orders of that of another EA etc.

At least that's how I understand it.

So you have to decide if you will need magic numbers or not and how your EA will work with other EA's or more then one currency etc.

Hope this helps

Hi Agent,

Thank you for the informative reply. If this is the case, then I'll want to keep that magic #.

What I understand from you is that, in this example, 13131313 will be attached to every order which gets generated by this EA, in order for the EA to track its own orders and to protect them from being touched by other EAs. Is that correct?

Beyond that, could you take away all the other unnecessary blocks of code and keep only the CCI, MA? I am attaching here my latest amended copy.

I would appreciate your support a lot.

tapo

Files:
cci_1.txt  11 kb

tapo:

Hi Agent,