Inconsistent behavior?

I've been developing code on other platforms (Tradestation, WealthLab, etc) for years, but I'm new to MQL. Haven't learned the "tricks" yet, and I think that's biting me.

I have a fairly complex indicator that seems to work. Sometimes. And I can't figure out the "sometimes" part.

E.g.: I compile the indicator. I apply it on my chart. It works just like it should. Then without touching the code I recompile, and the results change -- arrows disappear, things like that.

With other code I'd see it work wrong when e.g. I changed timeframes on the chart, but a recompile (with no code changes) would change the results to work right.

How can a freshly compiled and applied indicator work differently than the same indicator after another recompile?? There are no error messages/etc in the Experts tab.

Thanks -- Gary

garyfritz:

How can a freshly compiled and applied indicator work differently than the same indicator after another recompile?

It cannot. The proof is in the codes which we cannot see.

Sounds like a zen koan. :)

Well, I figured out the cause for this particular issue. When you recompile, the inputs revert to the default values. I didn't realize it did that. I'd changed one of the params, and that change got discarded when I recompiled.

I have a similar puzzle involving initialization. I'm calculating an EMA by hand -- monitoring intraday H/L and using that to calculate an N-day ADR. Code below. (Sorry, can't figure out how to make the SRC button work for entering code...)

So I initialize adr20 to -1, using that as a flag to initialize the EMA to a reasonable value so it stabilizes quickly.

I run it on a chart, and I get a final EMA value of 99 pips. If I refresh the chart, the value changes to 109, and a second refresh changes it to 110. It's stable after that. If I recompile, OR if I switch timeframes and then back again, it goes back to 98.