Floating spread or fixed spread ? - page 4

gbemi1:

I agree with all of you. I believe i'm still learning.

Thanks very much

You are welcome. I'am happy this thread is useful to one person at least.

gbemi1:

I agree with all of you. I believe i'm still learning.

Thanks very much

We are all still learning,  it never ends :-)

angevoyageur:
I would like to gather information on the advantages and disadvantages associated with different kinds of spread. It seems fairly obvious to every trader to find a broker with the lowest spreads. But personally I do not know the obvious implications of the choice floating or fixed.

Do you have any information? As much as possible not speculation but arguments based on facts. I think that might be useful to all traders if we can synthesize the knowledge and experiences of community MQL5.

Avantages of floating seems be  : a lower value on average, but widening on events which may trigger our stoploss.

Ressources about spread :

Spread on chart (indicator)

Spread candle creator (indicator)

In my opinion the spread is  applicable at the open and close, as it has been said, if from the open you have a profit target of 50 pips from open you will have a set figure to work towards, however, the figure (50 pips profit) after open will differ at close, if the spread is fixed at 2, then taking this into consideration from the open, the profit after close would be first the spread at open 2 + 2 at close making a profit of 46 pips, you would have to create an order of profit to allow for the spread, so taking the last example, you would set your profit target at 54 pips to get 50,  so considering a floating spread, where as the ask and bid can fluctuate, you will never know what to factor in to get your 50 pips profit, but, if you were trading manually then you could wait for the desired 50 pips profit to appear then close your position

rob: