i understand the function iClose and iOpen, but i do not understand Close and Open when Programming.

i  busy creating an indicator looking back at history bid price in history and the ask price of now. 

now the history part i get and works. as shown in the code.

range = DoubleToStr((((iClose("EURGBP",0,i))-iOpen("EURGBP",0,i))*10000) +(((iClose("GBPUSD",0,i))-iOpen("GBPUSD",0,i))),0);

however for the ask price i simply thought i could do remove the i from iClose and iOpen but that did not work.

range = DoubleToStr((((Close("EURGBP",0,i))-Open("EURGBP",0,i))*10000) +(((Close("GBPUSD",0,i))-Open("GBPUSD",0,i))),0);

i understand i could do DoubletoStr(ask,digits) but how would that work in the example at the top? i am a very basic programmer with very few coding skills, but 

creating something history wise i understand MQ4 fine. it is just i get confused by how Open and Close compared to iClose and iOpen in what i try to do. i am sure once i get the understanding of it and it clicks with me i understand, but at the moment i am lost. could someone teach me or help me out here, what i miss in logic of understanding Open and Close compared to iClose and iOpen?

Read the documentation:

Also, check the sections to which above mql elements belong.

Close - Predefined Variables - MQL4 Reference
  • docs.mql4.com

MQL does not provide what you think it should provides. Place the cursor on iClose and press F1.

Beside that look at parameters of the function OnCalculate...

Beside that assume that 99% of your ideas or questions are already worked out here.

So search before trying - it's a lot faster and you won't step into most of the possible error traps.

All the functions with an i deliver a series which has by definition of mql5 the latest candle zero.

the close[] array within OnCalculate is not a series in its default state ending with rates_total - 1 instead.