Why learn Python if you code with Mql5?

Hi,

I'm wondering if learning Python to apply for coding jobs with investment/trading firms would be worth it. 

As a retail trader, I work with Mql5 every day and I don't see any reasons to switch to Python. But when I look at coding job offers in this industry, they are always for Python... anyone knows why?

If I want to go into a coding career in the investment/trading industry, should I transition to and start learning another language like Python?

Would my Mql5 experience be of any use?

Thanks in advance!

If you want a programing language job. You'd better have experience in couple of mainstream programing languages. Stock brokers use their own app or SDK which is only available to several mainstream programming languanges including python. And you may need to use Pandas or other third party APIs/packages which is only available in Python for data analysing. And the hiring companies may have their own SDKs which is only available to Python. And all data science students/data analysts use Python because of the third party visualization and mathematic packages/tools.

MT4/5 simplifies many fuzzy steps for programmers to automated trading. And programming engineers need to keep learning new thing(APIs/SDKs/new languages) in order to remain competitive or just to fulfil what the workflow needs.

Jeepack:
Hi,

I'm wondering if learning Python to apply for coding jobs with investment/trading firms would be worth it. 

As a retail trader, I work with Mql5 every day and I don't see any reasons to switch to Python. But when I look at coding job offers in this industry, they are always for Python... anyone knows why?

If I want to go into a coding career in the investment/trading industry, should I transition to and start learning another language like Python?

Would my Mql5 experience be of any use?

Thanks in advance!

Python is quite easy - just invest a few hours and upskill.

Always good to know more languages IMHO