Very rookie question...

I'm just learning to code.  I'm learning with a course I found on Udemy.  So far it's a great course.  I've been following along using the code I learn and making sure that I'm writing properly.

Well, I just learned how to send an order for the first time.  Below is the code I'm trying.  I've copied the instructor's code almost exactly.  The only thing I changed was the prices because the actual live prices are different then when the video was recorded.  When I try to run this script, nothing happens.  If I add an alert to say, "Test" or whatever... that works.  It pops up.  But no order is sent.  I've tried it on a demo from two separate brokers.  

He said that there is more information that could go into those brackets and explained all the things I could add but pointed out that they were required to send this order.  This is as far as he filled it out in the lesson and his worked fine.  I could see the entry line on the chart as well as the SL and TP lines.  When I run mine, which is practically identical, there is nothing.  No sound or anything.  In the log it says the following:

---------------------------------------------------------------

Script Test EURUSD,M1: loaded successfully

Test EURUSD,M1: initialized

Test EURUSD,M1: uninit reason 0

Script Test EURUSD,M1: removed

The code: 

void OnStart()

{

OrderSend(NULL,OP_BUYLIMIT,1.00,1.08471,10,1.08460,1.08600);

}

I feel like everyone in this forum will look at this and know what I did wrong immediately.  I don't understand how I could have made a mistake with such a short code.

Would deeply appreciate your help.  Thank you in advance!

Jay

Discover new MetaTrader 5 opportunities with MQL5 community and services
Discover new MetaTrader 5 opportunities with MQL5 community and services
  • www.mql5.com