trying to make a function but failing. prolly something small.

To add comments, please log in or register
Dmitri Mikhalev
Dmitri Mikhalev  

Hi all,

so I am new to MQL4 and not really great at programming overall. Anyway, I am trying to learn from a tutorial (this one: https://www.cashbackforex.com/school/mql4-programming/basic-expert-advisor-example-moving-average-cross/ ) and there seems to be some stuff there that doesn't work. I haven't completed all of it yet, as I am trying to figure stuff out bit by bit.

So what happens here, is that I am trying to make the function below work, but I keep getting this error: "'close' - function declarations are allowed on global, namespace or class scope only"

I have tried to remove "void" before "close" but then I get other errors like "type - unidentified identifier". Why is there a void there, I guess there should actually be "void" there, since the author put it there, but then, I don't know what is wrong...

Please help!

And thank you in advance!

void close(int type)
{
   if(OrdersTotal() > 0)
   {
      for(Counter = OrdersTotal() - 1; Counter >= 0; Counter--)
      {
         OrderSelect(Counter, SELECT_BY_POS, MODE_TRADES); 

if(type==OP_BUY && OrderType() == OP_BUY)
         {
            if(OrderSymbol()==Symbol() && OrderMagicNumber()==MagicNumber)
            {
               RefreshRates();
               OrderClose(OrderTicket(), OrderLots(), NormalizeDouble(Bid, Digits), vSlippage);
            }
         }      

if(type==OP_SELL && OrderType() == OP_SELL)
         {
            if(OrderSymbol()==Symbol() && OrderMagicNumber() == MagicNumber)
            {
               RefreshRates();
               OrderClose(OrderTicket(), OrderLots(), NormalizeDouble(Ask, Digits), vSlippage);
            }
         }
      }
   }
}

Premier Global Holdings
Matthew Renner  
Dmitri Mikhalev:

Hi all,