EMA Cross EA

Hello,

I got this trading strategy from a friend who trades equities. Looks like I am getting good results so far. The strategy is pretty simple:

Components: 4EMA, 10EMA, 50SMA

BUY: 4EMA crosses up 10EMA and both are above 50SMA - StopLoss=Lowest point in last 5 bars - TrailStop=20 - TakeProfit=60

SELL: 4EMA crosses down 10EMA and both are below 50SMA - StopLoss=Highest point in last 5 bars - TrailStop=20 - TakeProfit=60

Safety Stop= when price moves a certain amount of pips, place Stop at breakeven - this is an option I tried when experimenting with the strategy but I am not using it now - I kept it in the EA

I am posting here for two reasons:

1 - I am not a coder... not even close!! If anyone can go through the EA and improve on the coding would really be helpful. The EA should work on multiple pairs, I am not sure if I got this part of the EA correct.

2 - Improve on the exit strategy, Trail stop is good enough but maybe the exit can be improved further.

I have attached the EA and the tester report. No modelling quality so I have no idea how accurate the results are.

Cheers!

- pete

Files:

Still testing and seems that emaPrd=4 && sigPrd=6 are giving slightly better results

Hello friends. 

Please what time frame did you use the EA on and also what types of commodities did your friend use it on?

Thanks

Dp

pete42:

I got this trading strategy from a friend

1 - I am not a coder...

The EA should work on multiple pairs,

2 - Improve on the exit strategy, 

1. Why did you post your MT4 question in the MT5 Systems section instead of the MQL4 section, (bottom of the Root page?)
              General rules and best pratices of the Forum. - General - MQL5 programming forum?
    Next time post in the correct place. The moderators will likely move this thread there soon.

2. Some friend; a simple crossover hasn't been profitable for decades. You could have gone to the codebase and got it yourself.

3. MT4: Learn to code it.