Spread trade question?

As a fresh trader, i have a simple question which hurts my head.

I have noticed in my ECN Account that EURUSD Spread goes 0 pipes many times.

What happens if i open simultaneously BUY/SELL trade when spread is 0 and friday night the spread goes 4 pipes?

lucky_seb:

As a fresh trader, i have a simple question which hurts my head.

I have noticed in my ECN Account that EURUSD Spread goes 0 pipes many times.

What happens if i open simultaneously BUY/SELL trade when spread is 0 and friday night the spread goes 4 pipes?

It is normal for spread to be "0" on an ECN account, because you are also paying commission on your trades.

If you place both Buy and Sell orders when spread is "0" then when you close the orders, you will pay the spread cost at that time if it is greater than "0".

While the two orders remain open, then the net position will change over time as the spread changes (it will show as a loss).

Fernando Carreiro:

It is normal for spread to be "0" on an ECN account, because you are also paying commission on your trades.

If you place both Buy and Sell orders when spread is "0" then when you close the orders, you will pay the spread cost at that time if it is greater than "0".

While the two orders remain open, then the net position will change over time as the spread changes.

This means that it will be a positive value > 0 .

lucky_seb: This means that it will be a positive value > 0 .
No! Spread will always be a negative impact and show as a loss!

Fernando Carreiro:
No! Spread will always be a negative impact and show as a loss!

I have seen many times the net profit to be poisitive.How is it possible?

Fernando Carreiro: If you place both Buy and Sell orders when spread is "0" then when you close the orders, you will pay the spread cost at that time if it is greater than "0".
When you buy you pay the spread up front. When you sell you pay the spread when you close. You always pay the spread.