Pattern Rocognition Indicator (s)

In the Indicators thread is the ZUP indicator. This thread is for analysis of pattern recognition with emphasis on the ZUP indicator.

Again, I am a novice at this but encourage input, questions, and examples from all. Let me start with a little background.

H.M. Gartley was credited with discovering the pattern named after himself, "The Gartley". However, he did not assign Fibonacci ratios to the distances between points. He published a book in 1935, which cost about $1,000, a very handsome price at the time. I guess he knew he was on to something that worked and charged for it.

Scott Carney published the book "The Harmonic Trader" in 1999 that refined the Gartley pattern and assigned specific Fibonacci ratios. There had been and has been various versions that differ in fib ratios. Mr. Carney has since published Volume 2 of his book. His web site is very informative and I encourage you to visit:

Welcome to HarmonicTrader.com

You can find a used copy of The Harmonic Trader (Vol 1) on amazon.com for as low as $29.

Carney also has developed a scanner, but the live version requires an E-Signal feed.

Although these patterns work in all markets, most of the tools in the past has been geared for the stock market. It's easy to understand that there are hundreds of stocks that can be scanned. In Forex, all we can do is scan the different pairs and time frames.

I have gleaned most of my knowledge on the ZUP indicator from another site, where a contributor posted updates and analysis. It appeared to me that the contributor has a close relationship with the person that programmed the ZUP. The programmer's name is nen and he has his own page on a Russian web site: "http://www.onix-trade.net/forum/index.php?showforum=54"

From what I have digested, most of the analysis pertains to using the ZUP on the daily charts. However, since some of us are intra-day traders, I'd like to review patterns on shorter time frames a well.