Trading Sideways Markets

Hello all,

I've attached an indicator that I found on Metaquotes and modified a bit. I've been trading for almost 10 years, but I still have a hard time predicting flat or sideways markets. My trading style favors trends and reversals, not channels, so... Any ideas or thoughts about predicting sideways markets would be mucho appreciated.

I've been using the attached indicator in conjunction with the RSI, CCI and some MA's, but I'm sure there is a better way. If we could accurately predict sideways market conditions, we could either channel trade or sit on our hands. Maybe this is an impossible task? but ya never know??

Files:

Very hard to tell...

One method I have read is for gbp-us. If the difference between H and L of the previous day is less than 200 pips, then expect sideways for the trading session. Usually it works and avoid you many false entries, but usually after a sideways a big break happen and you miss it, coz no trading in sideways and you dont know how much will last. Complicated.

Maybe same rule can be applied for other pairs depending their volatility, I mean that if for gbp-us the range is 200 pips, for eur-us can be less than 200 because usually move in tighter range. ...(etc. for other pairs).

Some indicators I have tested long time ago to determine sideways, but no one really works. My best indicator actually is to look the calendar news for the day. If there are high-to-medium-impact news, I get ready for a break. If not important news, I take my day.

Maybe an indicator can be developed using that tip . But that indy must know how to read Forex Tsd calendar

Regards,

fxnewbie:
Very hard to tell...