My simple 20 pips. - page 9

omelette:
It was posted by PipeTrader in his 2'nd or 3'rd post of this thread.........

Thanks. Don't I feel like a schmuck!

Lux

Wow, that was probably the longest backtest ever - over an Hour!!! Bluto, your spectacular results piqued my interest so I thought I'd try to replicate them. Just one currency pair, default settings, 90% data quality...........

im not good with eas and how they execute trades, could you post the rules of how the ea works so i can do a manual test of my own.

thanks

bluto:
I was intrigued by PipeTrader's method so I decided to whip up a little EA to test the ideas. The EA deviates a bit from the posted method and doesn't use the Force indicator. The StepMa signals alone are used to trigger orders. I use some dynamic lot sizing based on equity and a trailing stop feature. The EA seems to perform best on an H1 chart with medium-high volatility pairs. I backtested USDJPY, GBPUSD & EURUSD for 2006 using 90% quality data....backtest reports and the EA are in the attached zip file. According to the backtester, if you had started out in Jan. 06 with $10K for each pair, you'd be worth about $8 million by Dec. 2006. (lol ) One characteristic of this EA is that it makes monster profits during trending periods, and essentially breaks even/makes small marginal profits during ranging periods. Anyway, download and forward test. You'll also need the Step_MA indicator PipeTrader posted. Who knows, might be a cool EA.

Lot size

bluto:
I'm looking at your results. Something is definitely weird. At first glance, I don't understand why your starting lot size is .2 when you're using money mgmt. and your equity is $10K with RiskPercent set to 2.0. Your lot size should be 4.0.

2% of 10,000 is 200 so 0.2 lots seems correct. I have not looked at your version of mm but that is how mine works.

4 lots would be 40% of 10,000.

Robert

Hi guys!