Extending MT4 with DLL.

Hi.

I'm new to Forex and MT4. I've had some success with demo account, but I feel  that trading manually is not my way.

I'm a software developer. I think I should use my programming skills in trading. My first approach was to learn MQL4

and try to write some advisor. 

After reading documentation, looking at others code and writing some stuff myself I can say only one thing: MQL4 is ugly.

Point by point:

1. No user data types. No classes, no OOP at all, which is pretty much standard today, but to hell OOP, even no structures.
  2. No pointers. Hence inability to apply functional programming principles because there's no function pointer
    (map/reduce, higher order functions in general, etc...) and no awesome C/++ tricks with pointers.
  3. Odd limitations. 255 chars for string. Seriously? 
  4. Inability to contact with outer world. IPC? Haven't heard of it.
  5. Poor standard library
  6. Inability to set up own event loop. 
  7. DLLs can be imported, but having such limited amount of primitives and inability to pass callbacks
    limits that too.

Those are key points that make language so ugly. Correct me if I'm wrong.

I still don't have much experience with MQL (and I hope I won't if I'll get answer on my question),

but it looks terrible. Why did developers reinvent the wheel and why is it square after all is out of scope, but

still it would be interesting to find out because there's Lua (has limited standard libray, but extremely easily embedded

and has lots of libraries), Python (easily embedded too, also has insanely big standard library and gazillion of libraries

for literally everything you can think of), Ruby (easily embedded, small, provides unique metaprogramming features

and is pleasure to use) and some other options.

I have seen tries to embed Python into MT4, but it is 1) dead (last update in 2009), 2) unstable, lots of questions about why does