MT4 Trading basics

Hi,

Im new to MT4.

Before using MT4 I was use to placing trades using actual price value. So if I had $1000 equity i want to place $50 on the USD/CAD pair for a Buy order.

I simply enter 50 as the value then set a stop and take profit value based on how much i want to lose/gain. So i set stop loss to $25 and take profit value to $50.

That made it easy to understand.

Now with MT4 you cant do anything like that. I just dont understand the "UNIT" or Volume thing. like what does 0.01 or 0.1 or 1 mean? When I choose 0.02 I dont even know how much of my equity I am actually putting on that pair trade.

For example if i choose GBP/USD and the rate is 1.5000

and i want to put just $100 on that trade (a new order) then what value do i put for the VOLUME on the PENDING ORDER dialog box??

no.

it doesnt answer my question

are u saying that "VOLUME" on the ordering dialog box is the same as leverage.

If i choose 0.1 and my balance is $1000 how much (in terms of $) am i placing on that trade?

thats what i need to know for every trade i do

rafsystems: If i choose 0.1 and my balance is $1000 how much (in terms of $) am i placing on that trade?

In terms of what margin_used or margin_risked when stop_loss hit?

This 'sounds' like tyring to understand the difference between spread betting, as per origional posters example, and trading in the Forex Markets with leverage.

@rafsystems,

Hi rafsystems! This is how it works...

You place trades in your meta trader 4 terminal using size increments known as "Lots".

Example 1: 0.01 lots = "micro lots", 0.10 = "mini lots" and 1.00 lots = "standard lots"

Lets continue shall we? ;)

0.01 lots = 10 cents per pip (so if you placed a buy order of 0.01 lots and the market moves UP 1 pip your account equity increases by 10 cents $ 0.10 but your account balance remains the same until the order is closed with a win or loss.

0.10 lots = 1.00 (one dollar)

1.00 lots = 10.00 (ten dollars)