Opinion - very successfull EA - $3000 account to $6300 in two weeks (could have been $9000) - page 6

so you do the actual check in the MoveTrailingStop() function?

zzuegg:
so you do the actual check in the MoveTrailingStop() function?

I did that check, yes, you gave me the idea, I was struggling to work out the logic. but I hacked the function itself from another EA on the web, but I do understand what it is doing now. I do work hard at this and I am getting better.

most of what I am doing is copying and watching to see how they work. Im just learning how functions work by examples, as you will see from above. This topic could really use a good book.

MickGlancy:

ive collected lots of examples of trailing stops, but I need one which starts to trail immediately through the -ve values to 0, and then stop like a break even.

so if the market entry price is taken and the stop loss is 100, id the price moves to +25, the trailing stop moves to -75, and then once the price reaches 100, the trailing stop stops at 0 and doesnt move any further.

could anyone help me with this ? I have spent all day trying to get it to work and I just cant.

I thought I had done it but I haven't, my trailing stop follows through 0.

extern double Dist = 25;      //--- the distance you'd like your stops to trail.. in your case 25 pips
extern int EA_Majik = 12345;  //--- EA's magic number

start()
{
   //.......
   double min=NormalizeDouble(MarketInfo(Symbol(),MODE_STOPLEVEL)*Point,Digits);   
   for(i=OrdersTotal()-1;i>=0;i--)
   {
      OrderSelect(i,SELECT_BY_POS,MODE_TRADES);
      if(OrderMagicNumber()==EA_Majik && OrderSymbol()==Symbol())
      {
         if(OrderStopLoss() > 0)   //--- Must have an existing stoploss to trail
         {
            if(OrderType()==OP_BUY)
            {
               if(Bid-OrderOpenPrice() < 100)                                                           //--- only trail if price moves within 100 pips
               {