Order Closing or SL/TP in EA

Hi,

I'm just starting out in Forex trading and MQL4 (started a few days ago!). Currently, I'm writing a first EA for detecting and trading on breakouts.

The algorithm detects entry positions relatively well, however to find a good exit point is difficult.
Which leads to my question: is it always necessary to close trades or could the strategy also be to rely on T/P and S/L ?

Also, generally it seems that EA are better for short time frame trading, e.g. <= M30. Is this correct?

Thanks

Yes, it is very possible to have a strategy rely solely on TP/SL for exit points. It could be taken one step further with a break even and trailing stop.

For the timeframe, it all depends on the EA. EA's can do anything you program it to. While they are more popular on smaller timeframes, it is not due to performing better but rather because people like to see high automatic trading frequency. I've seen some EA's work wonders on H1 and some even on D1. But those are probably extremely solid strategies that won't even be released to the public.

Jon

Thanks Archael. I'll try to introduce trailing stops.

oracle

Further to Archael's comment, remember that if your EA is the only way a position will exit then nothing happens if your EA isn't running (in a power cut or computer failure, for example). The stop loss on an order is managed by the trade server not your PC, so as a matter of safety for your capital you should always have a protective SL, even if it never gets hit while the EA is in control. If you trail the stop loss for an exit, it serves both purposes.

Cheers

Jellybean

I don't think oracle1 intended to have only his EA close out trades but Jellybean is correct.