Justification to use Risk Reward Ratio 2:1 over Risk Reward Ratio 1:1 - page 3

I am a complete newbie as in never trade in real money since i know mt4 and mt5 from Playstore, and now on laptop. So i never experience slippage or requotes. lol

ok now, let's think about the probability that price move with the ratio exactly

1:1

or

hi/price=price/lo.

I am sure it really is small, close to zero. So, i think, that's the first reason not to make 1:1 risk reward ratio. So that left me with something like "is it going up more or down more?".
I think, that is a 50/50. In other words is like "am i right?" or "am i wrong".

That's all i can say for now. maybe i'll say something better when i am a better trader.

Riko Dewaner: In other words is like "am i right?" or "am i wrong".

Neither. RRR ($W/$L) is only half the problem. Probability of winning (%w vs. %L = 100 — %W) is the other. Expectation is $EV = %W × $W — %L × $L.

If you can increase the RRR without lowering the probability, do it. A 100:1 trade has little chance of winning. On YouTube there is a 100% winning strategy. IIRC, it uses ~1:200 RRR and unfortunately it wins about 3 times per 30 years, so makes no real money.

You can decrease the RRR if the increasing winning percentage more compensates. On YouTube there is another poster that mentions a 0.6:1 RRR and wins 70% IIRC.

You don't control %W, and thus $EV. Only optimization can determine your optimum RRR for maximum $EV for your particular strategy.

Riko Dewaner:

I am a complete newbie as in never trade in real money since i know mt4 and mt5 from Playstore, and now on laptop. So i never experience slippage or requotes. lol

ok now, let's think about the probability that price move with the ratio exactly

1:1

or

hi/price=price/lo.

I am sure it really is small, close to zero. So, i think, that's the first reason not to make 1:1 risk reward ratio. So that left me with something like "is it going up more or down more?".