Inability to close trade using EA

Good day all. I am fairly new to MQL5. I attempted writing an EA code based on the stochastic indicator but the trades are not closing even when the conditions are met. kindly help me debug.  the trade is supposed to close when there is a reverse cross of the indicator opposite to the one that created the signal. this is the code:

#property copyright "Copyright 2023, MetaQuotes Ltd."
#property link      "https://www.mql5.com"
#property version   "1.00"

#include <Trade/Trade.mqh>

ulong posTicket;

int handle;
int totalBars;
input double Lots = 0.1;

input double StochUpperBound = 80;
input double StochLowerBound = 20;

CTrade trade;

int OnInit()
  {totalBars = iBars(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT);

handle = iStochastic(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT,24,7,7,MODE_SMA,STO_LOWHIGH);

return(INIT_SUCCEEDED);
  }

void OnDeinit(const int reason)
  {
//---

}
//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
//| Expert tick function                                             |
//+------------------------------------------------------------------+
void OnTick()
  {int bars = iBars(_Symbol,PERIOD_CURRENT);
if (totalBars != bars){
   totalBars = bars;

double stoch[];
   double signal[];
   CopyBuffer(handle,0,1,2,stoch);
   CopyBuffer(handle,1,1,2,signal);  

if(stoch[1]>signal[1] && stoch[0]<signal[0]){
   Print("Buy crossover");
   if(stoch[1]<= StochLowerBound || signal[1]<= StochLowerBound){
      Print("Buy signal");
      double ask = SymbolInfoDouble(_Symbol,SYMBOL_ASK);
      ask = NormalizeDouble(ask,_Digits);

trade.Buy(Lots,_Symbol,ask);

if(stoch[1]<signal[1] && stoch[0]>signal[0]){
      if (posTicket > 0 && PositionSelectByTicket (posTicket)){

trade.PositionClose(posTicket);
         posTicket = 0;

}
         }
 }}}   
  }
Discover new MetaTrader 5 opportunities with MQL5 community and services
Discover new MetaTrader 5 opportunities with MQL5 community and services
  • www.mql5.com