MetaTrader5 installation fails on wine

Hello. As mentioned, I have tried and failed to get a trading terminal working on linux. This problem surfaced a week or two ago, and I have retried using different steps in vain. Does anyone have a solution for this? The error I'm getting has something to do with win32u.dll . If you have a working installation, how are you  doing it?

This comes just when I'm supposed to deploy an expert I've been coding for 3 years. Honestly, I'm at the lowest point a dev can get

The Alchemist:

Hello. As mentioned, I have tried and failed to get a trading terminal working on linux. This problem surfaced a week or two ago, and I have retried using different steps in vain. Does anyone have a solution for this? The error I'm getting has something to do with win32u.dll . If you have a working installation, how are you  doing it?

This comes just when I'm supposed to deploy an expert I've been coding for 3 years. Honestly, I'm at the lowest point a dev can get

I think that at this moment the only solution is to downgrade to previous versions.

I believe that metaquotes does not provide downloads of previous versions, but some users maintain their own archive. Check here:

https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/10114/page7#comment_43850140

Build 3540 works for me on ubuntu 22.04 LTS.

If the latest version is needed, t for now, you'll have to use virtual box or some other virtualization.

Discussion of article "MetaTrader 5 on Linux"
Discussion of article "MetaTrader 5 on Linux"
  • www.mql5.com
New article MetaTrader 5 on Linux is published: Author: MetaQuotes...

SrFosc Fosc #:

I think that at this moment the only solution is to downgrade to previous versions.

Thanks. I'm just hoping their automatic updates won't do me dirty :(

The Alchemist #:

Thanks. I'm just hoping their automatic updates won't do me dirty :(