Stop loss

Hi I'm very new at this and put a trade on MT4, My stop loss was set and the candle came very close but didn't hit or trigger my alarm on trading view and the price on the graph was below my stop loss. I was taken out of the trade within 8 pips before my stop loss.

Is this normal and do I need to allow for this in future?

Fortunately while I am new I am only trading Penny's but this could be a big problem further down the line.  

ariley17:

Hi I'm very new at this and put a trade on MT4, My stop loss was set and the candle came very close but didn't hit or trigger my alarm on trading view and the price on the graph was below my stop loss. I was taken out of the trade within 8 pips before my stop loss.

Is this normal and do I need to allow for this in future?

Fortunately while I am new I am only trading Penny's but this could be a big problem further down the line.  

Did you considered spread?

Does your MT4 and TV have the exact same data feed?

ariley17: Hi I'm very new at this and put a trade on MT4, My stop loss was set and the candle came very close but didn't hit or trigger my alarm on trading view and the price on the graph was below my stop loss. I was taken out of the trade within 8 pips before my stop loss. Is this normal and do I need to allow for this in future? Fortunately while I am new I am only trading Penny's but this could be a big problem further down the line.  

Please note that the following:

• A buy order opens at the Ask price, and closes at the Bid price.
  • A sell order opens at the Bid price, and closes at the Ask price.

The OHLC chart prices are all Bid prices.

ariley17: I'm very new at this and put a trade on MT4, My stop loss was set and the candle came very close but didn't hit or trigger my alarm on trading view and the price on the graph was below my stop loss.
  1. Why did you post your MT4 question in the MT5 General section instead of the MQL4 section, (bottom of the Root page)?