Indicator based on other indicator and closing price, not sure how...

Hey everyone, I'm currently writing code for an indicator that uses the price[i] version of OnCalculate instead of open[i],high[i],low[i],close[i] version because that's the simplest way I found, so far, to be able to choose to apply the indicator to another indicator if I want, using the parameters tab in the indicator settings. But I just realized that when I apply it to another indicator's buffer, and can no longer use price[i] to access the array of actual prices, which is something I need to do with this indicator. So I'm screwed in a way because now I think switching to the price[i] version of OnCalculate may have been useless afterall. I'm wondering what you think is the best solution for something like this... I'm a bit new to writing indicators and I want to do it the right way so if any of you have any advice, I would really appreciate it.

Applying One Indicator to Another
Applying One Indicator to Another
  • www.mql5.com
When writing an indicator that uses the short form of the OnCalculate() function call, you might miss the fact that an indicator can be calculated not only by price data, but also by data of some other indicator (no matter whether it is a built-in or custom one). Do you want to improve an indicator for its correct application to the other indicator's data? In this article we'll review all the steps required for such modification.