Use iFractal to place the stop loss - MQL4

Hi guys it's my first post, I'm not very good in fact I started studying a couple of weeks ago.

I wanted to understand how stoploss can be placed on the previous fractal.

For example my EA sends a buy signal, so the stoploss must be placed at the level of the previous lower fractal.

Thanks =)

Files:
example.png  20 kb

Andrea Bevilacqua: Hi guys it's my first post, I'm not very good in fact I started studying a couple of weeks ago. I wanted to understand how stoploss can be placed on the previous fractal. For example my EA sends a buy signal, so the stoploss must be placed at the level of the previous lower fractal.

Scan iFractal backwards in time until you find the fractal level you are looking for. Fractals are never formed on the current or previous bar. There needs to be at least 2 completed bars on the right shoulder before a fractal becomes stable. So consider only scanning iFractal from bar shift 3 and onwards.

Thanks, could you give me more precise indications on what to look for online, to be able to solve this problem

Fernando Carreiro #:

Scan iFractal backwards in time until you find the fractal level you are looking for. Fractals are never formed on the current or previous bar. There needs to be at least 2 completed bars on the right shoulder before a fractal becomes stable. So consider only scanning iFractal from bar shift 3 and onwards.

Andrea Bevilacqua #: Thanks, could you give me more precise indications on what to look for online, to be able to solve this problem

Search the CodeBase with the keywords "fractal" and "stop". I found these which could help but there are more:

You can also search the Articles and see what you can find.

Andrea Bevilacqua #:

Thanks, could you give me more precise indications on what to look for online, to be able to solve this problem

Here is an example of a small chunk of one of my codes that uses fractals and count backwards to find previous fractal etc.