Why do you limit the maximum drawdown on the account? - page 17

sever32:

I'm not an economist, I don't do a lot of things. Still, I think I'm thinking from a common sense point of view)

I come to a BCS office a couple of months ago, they accept me as a potential investor, first of all I answer that I have the possibility to allocate 1 mn RUB for investments. Among other things they offer me a strategy to manage my assets with expected profit of 100% p.a. and a risk of 50% of investment.

According to you, I should invest the entire amount because it is a lot of money (for me); investment planning; preserving future substantial profits, etc. etc. In my opinion, it is right to invest 500tp and offer a return of 200% with a risk of 100%.

In this case, I get operational space and possibility to dispose the remaining sum, which I can multiply or spend on something substantial and useful at a given time, rather than keeping it, in fact ballast, in an investment account.

Or I am a trader and I explain the essence of my system in brief, which is not worse than others, but with a possible theoretical 100% profitability. At the same time I explain the main trading principle where I use all assets of my deposit and open a deal with a volume that characterizes the current state and the market and the risk of it in case of wrong market estimation. To diversify risks within one account I open, for instance, 10 deals with 10% risk of the deposited funds each. Explaining that the probability of errors in 10 trades in a row is almost impossible, moreover the TP is several times bigger than SL, which means that even a numerical loss ratio will not affect the final result.

But I don't find the investors' understanding that I work with the whole depo and there is a risk, respectively, of the whole depo.

and so why would I want an investor who limits the loss of my investment if I calculate volume from his funds?

sever32: