[Archive!] Any rookie question, so as not to clutter up the forum. Professionals, don't pass it by. Couldn't go anywhere without you - 2. - page 35

granit77:
It slows down, of course, but it all depends on specific indicators. For simple calculations, it is quite acceptable, but it provides time savings during development. In this way you may check the idea very quickly and happily throw it in the trash. If the results are encouraging. then it is possible to reduce it to a single indicator.
Programmers in general do not trust anyone (I'm not a programmer :)) ), so when it comes to the use of indicators they are divided into dull-pointed and sharp-pointed.
Some believe that the algorithms transferred directly from the indicator to the Expert Advisor are the fastest.
Others say that the difference is not so significant as to complicate the code. And sometimes, the introduction of calculations into the Expert Advisor even slows down the testing.
There are experts who are very skillful in optimizing the speed of the code, and there are not so many of them, even among the professionals.
Read articles in the Tester and other sections, it will be interesting.
And it's more convenient for the simple country boy to keep everything in the indicator and send signals to the Expert Advisor from there. This allows to easily modify the system, change and rewrite indicators, use several indicators simultaneously, etc. It is noteworthy that one of the most experienced forum programmers is of the same opinion.

interesting excursus

The broker's response delay time negates all optimization of the code.

For pending orders - serious code optimization is not crucial (modularity - easy to develop and modify the code).

granit77:

Thank you, very interesting. I've just 'made' my first EA, actually just changed a couple of lines of code in the finished one. Here's what came out:

"Shifter", no stops. Now I have decided to optimize it.