Trading Systems: The Magic of Filtration

New article The Magic of Filtration has been published:

Most of the automated trading systems developers use some form of trading signals filtration. In this article, we explore the creation and implementation of bandpass and discrete filters for Expert Advisors, to improve the characteristics of the automated trading system.

Author: Sergey Pavlov

Great Article,

for the newbie in system developing this should be the guide to filtering...absolutely love this!

I'm a Newbie system developer and all the methods the author describes is exactly how I optimized my first couple of systems. I did those thing in that exact order as a matter of common sense. What I was hoping to get from this article are examples of using one indicator to filter out another. Example if (Macd<0 && CCI < 0). This approach have NEVER worked, all it does is decrease the # of Trades while killing a profitable CCI system. However, this is a very common technique in manual trading system.

http://pixiefx.web.fc2.com/index.html

http://www.ustream.tv/channel/fx-on-com-perrier

This is a great trading system.

I've turned this into a great system yielding 500% with less than 20% drawdown. Sergy's code was excellent. The hourly filter was not ideal for me however. I removed all of that code. Note-i use it on 15 min, it produces more than 5 or 1 after my filters.

LBranjord:

I've turned this into a great system yielding 500% with less than 20% drawdown. Sergy's code was excellent. The hourly filter was not ideal for me however. I removed all of that code. Note-i use it on 15 min, it produces more than 5 or 1 after my filters.

Love this one, have it on demo now, doing great. FXDD is the broker. who knows how long it will work for but the idea behind it is cool.

LBranjord:

I tested this but was unable to obtain anywhere near the results you mentioned. Are you using additional filtering?