A Question about Spread

Who determines the spread? 
A little background to why I’m asking this question...
My account was in a terrible shape after loads of bad news on eur/usd I had it managed and hedged all of my trades to free some margin any time some profit would come I’d close some old trades and hedge again super dangerous trading I know but it’s all I could think to do to try and save my account in this situation my account drawdown was literally 98% but whatever way the market went it was balanced by buy and sell trades equalizing things however last night the spread widened to well over 50 pips and I got a margin call and all my trades closed before I had the chance to do anything about it. Now I know the broker isn’t going to say here’s your 11k back but I would like to know if it’s partly to blame the broker that the trades closed because I’ve been trading on that 98% drawdown for a few months and since July it’s been bad and I’ve managed it and I believe without this gap in spread I could have salvaged it so before I go using the same broker was it a problem with the broker or is this spread difference normal? And I will add I had a PRO account so I was paying charges on each trade and supposedly getting better spread which I’m starting to suspect is not the case and I thought I would at least be sent an email or alerted that there has been a margin call and to add funds but I wasn’t. Does this sound like a problem with the broker and I need to change or is it normal practice? 

I don't want to kickanybody when they are down, but I hope that you have learned never to "hedge" again.

"Hedging" will leave you exposed when you have low free margin and the spread widens.

In future please just close the trade instead of pointlessly opening another trade in the opposite direction.

https://www.mql5.com/en/forum/167337

"Hedging" in Forex trading -Why do it?
"Hedging" in Forex trading -Why do it?
  • www.mql5.com