Discussion of article "Exposing C# code to MQL5 using unmanaged exports"

New article Exposing C# code to MQL5 using unmanaged exports is published:

In this article I presented different methods of interaction between MQL5 code and managed C# code. I also provided several examples on how to marshal MQL5 structures against C# and how to invoke exported DLL functions in MQL5 scripts. I believe that the provided examples may serve as a basis for future research in writing DLLs in managed code. This article also open doors for MetaTrader to use many libraries that are already implemented in C#.

Figure 2. COM Interoperability model

Author: investeo

hello,
I think
in principle it's very useful to open up possible resources and find this article is very intersting. But I'm not very experienced programmer and therefore I have some question.

From my point of view unmanaged code gives me the possibility to develop platform undepended. But if somebody use Metatrader, he got a defined platform.

What is the benefit with unmanaged code in generally and in combination with MQL5 ?  - Please correct me if I have misunderstood something!

smartwart:
hello,
I think
in principle it's very useful to open up possible resources and find this article is very intersting. But I'm not very experienced programmer and therefore I have some question.

From my point of view unmanaged code gives me the possibility to develop platform undepended. But if somebody use Metatrader, he got a defined platform.

What is the benefit with unmanaged code in generally and in combination with MQL5 ?  - Please correct me if I have misunderstood something!

Hi smartwart,

The benefit is that there is a great amount of already developed code in C# that you can use for trading purposes. You will read more in my next article.

cheerz,

Investeo