Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong?

Hey guys,

I am just starting to learn MQL4 and working toward building an EA one step at a time, I am at the first step and can't figure out why I can't get it to open a trade. Any ideas? Code is below

Vincent Capizzo:

Hey guys,

I am just starting to learn MQL4 and working toward building an EA one step at a time, I am at the first step and can't figure out why I can't get it to open a trade. Any ideas? Code is below

//--- input parameters

extern int CCIperiod = 14;

extern double StopTradingBalance = 1000;

extern int HighTimeFrameEMA = 0;

extern int MediumTimeFrameEMA = 0;

extern int LowTimeFrameEMA = 0;

extern double LotSize = 0.01;

double PreviousCCIReading();

double CurrentCCIReading ();

extern double StopTradingBalance();

extern int MagicNumber = 1234;

//+------------------------------------------------------------------+

//| Expert initialization function                                   |

int OnInit()

{

return(INIT_SUCCEEDED);

}

//| Expert deinitialization function                                 |

void OnDeinit(const int reason)

{

}

//| Expert tick function                                             |

void OnTick()

{

//---CCI function values

double PreviousCCIReading = iCCI(NULL,5,15,0,2);

double CurrentCCIReading = iCCI(NULL,5,15,0,1);

//sell order

if(PreviousCCIReading > 100 && CurrentCCIReading < 100)

if(AccountBalance() > StopTradingBalance)

if(OrdersTotal()==0)

OrderSend(Symbol(),OP_SELL, LotSize, Bid, 3,Bid,Bid,NULL, MagicNumber, 0,Green);

}

The way I started was to simplify things. 
Does your code open a trade without any logic at all?
That would confirm your OrderSend parameters are correct at least. 

andrew4789:
The way I started was to simplify things. 
Does your code open a trade without any logic at all?
That would confirm your OrderSend parameters are correct at least. 

I'll comment out the if statements and try that real quick

Vincent Capizzo: